We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Bit Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spearfish Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spearfish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spearfish Creek Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Spearfish B&B and Inns
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We were a bit disappointed here, but that's partly because TripAdvisor erroneously lists this very traditional motel as a B&B. We were attracted by the ratings, the description of the creekside setting (which is very nice, indeed), and our mental image of B&Bs. What we found was a fairly basic, very clean motel with a fairly large room, a comfortable bed and good lighting for the tolerable chairs. The room did have a small refrigerator, microwave, and TV, but was otherwise pretty bare. We were surprised to find no hair dryer or bath soap, but we got by. For its price, this is pretty good lodging; it just wasn't what we were looking for.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceolmhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were staying at hotel next door. Room was not very good. Went over to spearfish creek inn at 8:00am asked if they had any rooms. Looked at one and told them we would take it. They even let us check in early witch was really nice. Room was clean roomy and had fridge, microwave and coffee pot. To top it off there was the creek right behind inn. That was awesome get up early and go sit by the creek. Very nice stay. Oh you even get your own 2 chairs and table in front of your room. Nice little pool to hang out at. was a wonderful stay will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Definitely off the beaten path but backed up to a beautiful creek with a nice walking trail. Room decor could use updating but overall it was a nice clean room with mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Shower was great. Nice porch all around with chairs and tables to relax. Outside setting was pretty and we slept great with no traffic noise. Would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We found motel affordable and accommodating in every way.. It is an older motel and the owners are making improvements as they can. Even though the carpet showed age and wear the room were keep clean and made up every day. Thanks to Rachelle and the staff the week we were there for the bike rally was great.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

First Positive: very affordable. Second Positive: is located by the creek for easy and nice walking. There are many negatives: room was very dirty, So dirty that you did not want to take your shoes off. Bathroom has disgusting tub mat in it so you didn't know if it was cleaner to remove mat or just take a shower with flip flops on. Pool is the size of a kiddie pool and is shared by owners of motel and family and felt very awkward with family sitting on one side staring and guests on the other side. Room was in general disrepair: bathroom door had marks from a fist punching it, air conditioner had foam dripping all over it, toilet was permanently stained, chairs out side and inside room falling apart literally, beds were old and uncomfortable. This motel has great potential. I think the owners just need to spend some quality time and some money in renovating the property. It has a neglected feel. Would not choose to stay there again or recommend to friends.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here because there is no other place available, to get a room that backs up to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donandjanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle B, Manager at Spearfish Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
The bath mats are laundered every day, and the beds are all new, on down to two years old when reviewer stayed with us. In the future she should stay in the newer hotels for $100 more per night. Our reviews have been very good, but we could have Jesus doing the cleaning and this woman would complain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We read good reviews about this place, and were not disappointed. It is not fancy, but was very clean and everything worked well. The price was good also, and Rachelle, the manager, was nice and helpful.
The best part was that it is located right on Spearfish Creek, which flows through town. There is a paved bikeway that runs between the Inn and the Creek, but nothing else between you and the water. You can open your window and listen to the burbling water all night. We went out and walked the bikeway that evening, and it follows the Creek. Very nice.
Be sure to drive Spearfish Canyon, and don't miss the waterfalls on the road. Roughnock Falls and Spearfish Falls are the best, and they are both right near the Spearfish Lodge, which is several miles from the city of Spearfish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the creek. 120 is the very best, being the closest to the Creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eet2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were a bit disappointed with the Spearfish Creek Inn after reading the positive reviews on trip advisor. There is no breakfast provided so don’t think this is a B & B. The room cleanliness was average but the rug was filthy with stains and ground-in dirt – we wore our shoes in the room. We were given a conventional key which is certainly quaint but not very secure and unusual in today’s motel industry. Privacy is a bit compromised due to the configuration of the room and the location of windows on both sides of the bed. The creek was very nice but we felt uncomfortable leaving the window open to take advantage of the great sound of the creek because there is a public walkway located between the rooms and the creek. The television set was tiny for the room size and was an older standard definition set. This is a basically a place to sleep when traveling from place to place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustangkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
#13 of 14 in Spearfish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
2.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Creek Inn

Property: Spearfish Creek Inn
Address: 450 W Kansas St, Spearfish, SD 57783-1929
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Spearfish
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax by the creek! We are a small motel right off the main roads, but still within walking distance of the Spearfish's main streets. Tucked away in a quiet location, and the Spearfish Creek runs right behind the motel! Our staff is friendly and willing to help with whatever we can! If you're looking for a not-so-pricey and quaint place to stay, then call us and book a room! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spearfish Creek Hotel Spearfish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing