We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the name brand hotels - This Mom and Pop Motel is the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bell's Motor Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bell's Motor Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   230 N. Main St, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Skip the name brand hotels - This Mom and Pop Motel is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Mom and Pop motel is the best at a great rate! Scott is friendly, and very knowledgeable of the area. He recommended places to eat and some awesome hikes. Clean, comfortable and best of all for us pet friendly at a great rate. We ended up staying many more days than we had planned. The rooms have all your basic needs; fridge, microwave, towels, soap, TV and wifi. The pool looked clean and inviting but we didn't have time to use it as we did a lot of hiking in the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Divingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We love old mom and pop type motels so whjen found a coupon in the travel guide for Bell's we decided to check it out. Scott was so friendly during check-in and gave us a recommenation for breakfast. Our room was spacious and clean - the sheets smelled so fresh! It is also EXTREMELY affordable.

Thanks Scott!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans LA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here after calling ahead to reserve with a coupon. Owner kept the light on and honored our price. We were beat after many hours on the road and welcomed the ease with which we settled in. Room clean and tidy - bath accessories just what we needed. Easy checkout and best of all -- NO PROBLEMS. Thanks, y'all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWINSPORTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, affordable place to stay..This is the place! The staff was extremely friendly and the motel allows pets for a reasonable charge. The location was great, with easy access to restaurants and shops downtown. The outdoor pool was refreshing on a 100 degree day! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyRae66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have been staying at the motor lodge for 6+ years now and always have a great time as well as a wonderful stay at the lodge. Scott and the crew are always trying to help in any way they can. We have never had a bad stay. During one of our stays, one of us was injured and Scott volunteered to take us to and from the hospital to make sure all was taken care of. These are genine caring folks who run an honest business and enjoy their customers. On top of this, you are within walking distance to some very nice establishments for eating or enjoying the cold drink of your choice.
We would not consider staying anywhere else while in Spearfish ! !

Thanks Scott !!!!!!!

Tim D.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, Manitoba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed last 2 nights at Bell's. Still trying to recover from the shock of finding such a gem for such a fabulous price. The owner was very accomodating and pleasant to do business with. Housekeeping staff does an fantastic job, the rooms are older and rustic but spotless! We met one of the housekeepers outside the room one morning and she was friendly and helpful. We stayed in rm 126 and have no complaints. I believe that you would have considerable difficulty finding a room this well tended to for twice (or more) the money here or in many of the surrounding communities. The location is wonderful for accessing the Black Hills, it has free wifi, nicely tended grounds and pool, awesome coffee shop next door.

Room Tip: Some rooms have new pillow top mattresses, ask if any are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Returning from a week long trip to the Tetons & Yellowstone, we were fortunate to stumble on Bell's. The room was clean and included a microwave and fridge. The price was half of what we paid for rooms in Jackson & Cody that had neither. I plan to be back again and will use it as base for day trips in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minnitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.6 mi away
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
#14 of 15 in Spearfish
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 15 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#2 of 15 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell's Motor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell's Motor Lodge Motel

Address: 230 N. Main St, Spearfish, SD 57783
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell's Motor Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned motel on one level with parking in front of your room. We pride ourselves in providing a clean and comfortable room at an affordable price. We have a small outdoor pool, AC, and free internet access. Some pet friendly rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bell's Motor Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing