We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Adequate, paid too much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adequate, paid too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The upside. The hotel was clean and not out-of-repair. The location was convenient. The staff did their job.
The downside. The rate was way too high for what you get, but that's how it goes when you're staying near peak season. The noise level from the freeway is high, but if you keep your window shut it is fine. The hotel, inside and out is ugly. The breakfast was underpar. The staff needs a bit more sparkle.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
When in Spearfish again come stay with us so we can strive to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
47
33
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is very nice property. Like many mid-priced hotels (Super 8, etc.) some of them are great, some of them are dives. This one is great!

Our room (225) seemed a bit cramped for our family of 4, but we're used to that. The beds were super soft and comfy. It was very clean, the shower was hot and the water pressure was very good. We also had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Please note, however, we requested those things in our reservation. The TV isn't flat screen or anything, but it's fine. 32 inches and has plenty of channels. I think they must have spent a good deal of money on the mattresses, rather than new TVs. To me, that's worth it!

The pool was clean and bright and the hot tub worked well. Our 12 year old thought it was fantastic!

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

My only complaint is that our neighbors kept slamming their door and it was loud and shook the walls. This isn't exactly a problem with the hotel, because the doors don't shut on their own - you have to pull them shut yourself. We just had noisy neighbors. It leads me to believe though, that it may not be the most soundproof hotel if there were a lot of rowdy guests.

For the price, I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljbeethoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
It was great that you liked our hotel and we now have flat screen T.V's, next time here in Spearfish stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

When we first pulled up and walked inside I felt like I was back in the nineties. The decor, pool, TVs and rooms are all generally outdated. The beds are very comfy, and the rooms very clean. Although the first room we stayed in had a smell so we had to switch rooms. My room lacked a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. In the end I would say this is very clean, but I wouldn't go again until they get the rooms and decor into the 21st century.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickolasq12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience staying at this Rodeway Inn. I would normally not book at a Rodeway, but this property is exceptional. The room was clean and the staff was very kind. I had a small problem with the first room and they promptly remedied the problem. I talked with Larry the owner the next day and he was very pleasant. He takes great pride in his property and has won several awards from Choice hotels. Do not miss dinner at the ROMA Restaurant next door. This combination of eat and sleep represents Spearfish well!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggydsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beldenville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

To be honest, when we pulled in, we weren't sure what to think but we were pleasantly surprised! The staff was patient, helpful and accommodating! The room was clean, the bed comfortable and it was quiet. Also there was a nice little continental breakfast. The only complaints would be outdated TV and sink was a little clogged but neither would discourage us from staying again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymoon061513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here on our trip to spearfish canyon, we booked thru priceline & it seemed like a good value. clean rooms, nice check in person, small pool & cold but my kids liked it anyway. hot tub, cereal & toast for breakfast or muffins, overall we would stay here again. nothing fancy but nice & clean & very close to everything.

Room Tip: We were booked on 1st floor parking lot view so ask for a back view & you will get a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redchicky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nothing special at all... TV was larger older tube type, Bathroom was clean but soiled/mildewed. One of 2 desk chairs was significantly stained. But...the room was cleaned properly and not dirty. Mattresses were very comfy.

Would not rush out to return, but would not avoid either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey-Priscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
Address: 2275 E Colorado Blvd, Spearfish, SD 57783-3200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spearfish
Spearfish Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing