We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renamed - but still great food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spearfish Chophouse and Whiskey Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Glenrock, WY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Renamed - but still great food”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Missed it the first time driving by since the "Chophouse" sign we were looking for is gone. Now it's the Dry Creek Bar & Grill. On the advice of several friends, we stopped for dinner and found out that the food was as good as advertised, peanut shells on the floor and all. The walleye was excellent but the wife had the rib eye which had me quite envious, so it was surf and turf time. Nothing too fancy about the dining room but the atmosphere and food were excellent. If you are in the Spearfish Canyon or Deadwood area, it's worth the stop.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowdy_GRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Roadhouse or Dive?”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Probably THE best pork chop I have had in a real long time. Great time of year to be traveling through here, no tourists, and things are pretty quiet. Pulled up to the Chop house and wondered about appearances. Inside, we walked through the bar into the 'dining' area, well lit open area with tables that we figured they pulled to the side for the barn dances. Were we ever surprised with the food!! Appetizer with beef tips and bacon, blue cheese crumbles, and bacon, oh yeah! Mary had so much asparagus she couldn't eat all the spinach in the chopped veggie salad. My pork chop was cooked perfectly with a great topping of pesto, gorgonzola, balsamic, WOW!!!! Monday night, pretty quiet, yet the food was excellent. Not bad for the off season!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h2odoc781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodrich, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good local place to eat”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

When traveling across the country on vacation, we always ask at our motel where to eat. This place was recommended at the Quality Inn, and we have eaten here twice. Good food, good people.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank roadsterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Fourche, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Very nice setting in Spearfish Canyon. The food is upscale and they have great choices on their menu. Our guests had seafood and we had steak (of course!) and all was wonderful. They have a great lunch menu also.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AuntieStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun biker bar with good food.”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Food was good in a casual atmosphere. Lots of bikers.
Slow service due to be short-staffed. Great bloody mary!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spearfish Chophouse and Whiskey Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing