We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased with stay”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pleased with stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We usually stay at HI Express, but rates are high in this resort area in-season, and this hotel was more reasonable. We stayed here after touring Black Hills all day. Staff was very helpful, referring us to good restaurant for supper. Comfortable room, continental breakfast. Quite a bit of construction on nearby roads.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Drum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Wanted to thankyou for your comments and hope to see you back in the near future.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
61
39
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We are a couple of guys used to a lot of noise (we all come from large families). When we checked into the Quality Inn, even we were not anticipating the noise. The pool area off the lobby seems to be in an echo chamber that reverberates loudly. Our room, just up from the lobby, caught much of that noise. After the pool closed, kids running up and down the halls and banging on doors got the best of us. Parents seemed to be asleep, leaving the kids to terrorize the hotel patrons. Calls to the front desk were fruitless.

The breakfast in the morning was nice. The price was really high for a place where sleep was impossible. I would go elsewhere if you prefer a good night's sleep.

Helpful?
1 Thank bnegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Would like to thank you for your comments concerning the loudness of the hotel during your stay. Upon reveiwing that day we had 2 baseball teams in during this timeframe. Looking through our front desk notes this is the only concern that we were made aware of.
Again please accept our appologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Quality Inn in Spearfish. We spent our first night in South Dakota at this hotel so we could easily visit Spearfish Canyon the next day. The location was great. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean -- nothing special, but what you would expect. The kids loved the pool and hot tub (the pool water was nice and warm, which was good considering it was about 60 degrees outside). And the continental breakfast had something for everyone.

All in all, for $95 a night, this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sraesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Would like to thank you for your comments as we are always trying to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. When the room next to us filled their tub we couldn't hear the t.v. ( the volume set on 90!) The doors to the rooms slammed shut loudly. If anyone shut their door anywhere on the same level it was very loud. Housekeeping not the best either. Bugs in the whirllpool that were not cleaned out. Saw one adult employee during stay. WILL NOT GO BACK.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Wanted to thankyou for your comments as we can not move forward without knowing what is going on.

I went thru the records and did not see any notes in your file about any of the concerns mentioned. If you would of addressed with the front desk that day we would of been more than happy to correct your concerns.

Please be advised that we are an Award Winning Hotel with Choice Hotels and take great pride in that what we do from guests to cleanliness.

Please except our appologies and hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The hotel might be acceptable but I wouldn't know because the room they stuck me in was run down and right next to the ice machine that made noise all night.
After fighting with the Choice Priviledge "customer service" people for almost an hour I had no fight left in me to complain about the room.
I had planned a 10 day vacation around thier "free night" promotion. I should have checked the fine print. You do not get your points credited to your account until 72 hrs after your 2nd stay and you only get 8000 points. Enough points to stay at the less expensive hotels in this chain but not this one. After 3 conversations with the Choice Privilege "customer service" representatives .. one which said: "we don't care if you use our hotels or not". I am getting out of this program.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmj_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
I am sorry about your experience with Choice and not completely understanding the program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We got to Motel around 3:30- We were put ina a Handicap room (#104) which we hadn't asked for. Which would have been fine if we were handicapped. There was NOWHERE in bathroom to set any toiletries, not even a lid on the seat. Same in room ---one round desk nothing else. Later I called the desk ( right outside our room) and told them we could not get our t.v. to work it was all 'fuzzy'. After a ling pause we were told to unplug it and plug it back in again. we immediately did that and of course that did nothing. Ae called the desk back and let it ring 34 times but she would not andswer----I'm sure because she had no clue as to what to do with the t.v. I stepped out to see if maybe she was busy with check ins---not so no one was at the desk. We waited about 15 min and called back and again she did not answer the phone. so we read the whole evening .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rph35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Sorry to hear that your stay did not meet up to your expectations as the TV did go bad and is only picking up analog channels.
For future notice: You booked online which you selected a handicap room for your stay. If known we would of moved you to another room that day.
We have honored our 100% Guarentee Policy and refunded your entire stay as we want to make sure that our guests are taken care of.
Sincerely,
Brent Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Very clean, comfortable, reasonable rooms. Each and every employee was friendly and helpful. Breakfast bar had a great selection. Planned on staying 2 nights but stayed for 4.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardandrewmattson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Wanted to thankyou for choosing to stay with us and we hope you choose us the next time you are in Spearfish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 2725 1st Ave, Spearfish, SD 57783-3219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel in Spearfish that offers complete High Definition service in every room, with our 37" flat screen TVs. Complete Hot Breakfast in the morning, complimentary newspaper, fax, coffee, and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Spearfish
Spearfish Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing