We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“so-so”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed two nights Jan 6 (late arrival) and 7, 2012. Beds were comfortable and the room appeared clean. We asked for extra towels when the reservations were made, but we got the standard issue. The tub and shower squeaked terribly -- not the plumbing, but the actual tub/shower at every step taken. Towels were on the thin side. What was most upsetting was that as we were leaving the room for the day (around noon on the 7th) we passed a housekeeper who saw us leave. When we returned around 9pm, our room hadn't been touched. I immediately called the desk to ask for fresh towels for the next morning. We received no apology, but the towels were delivered promptly. The breakfast wasn't great, just average. Mostly cold food available.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linrose94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
40
46
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

So I'll say what was good: there was no problem getting a parking spot, the room was clean for our two nights spent at the property, the breakfast was good. Even though the ice machine was out, the staff was always willing to get us ice from somewhere. Friendly service, the pool looked nice and the price was in line with other Fairfield Inns and comparable brands. All around pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA-OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
329 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We drove across South Dakota with side trips to Pierre, the state capital and Sturgis, the biker capital, one week a year. The check in was fast and courteous. The room was fairly typical with two queens and a work area and free internet access. We had a refrigerator, also. The water pressure was good. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast area was small for this size property. We were there shortly after breakfast started, so we could get a table. It was a typical breakfast with cold cereals, microwaveable items, pastries, breads, etc. It was near a Walmart and we shopped for cheese and crackers which we had for dinner along with some wine. It was a one noght stay and suited our needs. It was clean and the hot water was hot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockhound94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The physical plant of this Fairfield Inn is unlike any I've stayed before. It's cheap and corners have been cut all over the place. The staff is fine and the free breakfast is
good. But, I would not stay here again unless there was no where else in Spearfish.
I've sent a reiview to Fairfield Inns of America. They say the property meets their standards. I disagree

Room Tip: go to any of the other neaby places to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuKAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spearfish hotels

Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
223 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

During the last leg of our six state summer vacation we stayed three nights here while visiting Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We had adjoining rooms with one king and two double beds. They were large and the microwave and refrigerator in both were very nice. The staff during our entire stay was awesome! John did not seem to bother when our 16 year old locked him and his step-brother out of their suite. Rosemary who manages the dining area was wonderful to talk with each morning. She made us feel like family having breakfast in her kitchen. The entire staff was just great! The pool was very nice and the laundry room was very clean as well. The hotel offers complimentary Internet which can be slow at times and the business center only has one computer. There is free parking and some places to eat are nearby and a 24-hour Wal-mart is just across the street. On our first night we ate at Roma’s as recommended by the hotel staff and it was very good.

Room Tip: Only one computer in the business center
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyinmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed three nights. We needed a clean room and a filling breakfast and we got both. The front desk staff were kind and helpful. I had read in other reviews that was not always been the case however it was for our stay. Check in and check out was easy. The road out front can be heard yet the fan easily covered if and we slept well. Pool is small yet good temperature. The pool/hot tub area has an outside door to a patio. It was nice to be out there during the evening. Cleaning staff kept ip well. Room could use some attention in the bathroom where some wallpaper was pulling away ans the caulking in the tub needs freshened up. Minor details. Liked having the refrigerator and microwave. There is a gas station just steps from the parking lot and a Wal-Mart within the block. Ate at nearby Applebee's one meal. This hotel seemed popular and was full during our visit. The breakfast room is busier on the weekends so plan an extra few minutes and you'll be fine. I thought the price for June was a bit high yet the cost does compare to other hotel/motels in the area. Overall it was what we expected and worked for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota City,Ne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Not at all what we'd hoped for....Despite the appearance of the motel being updated and rooms sufficiently clean, we can not begin to list all of our issues encountered while staying just 3 nights at this motel. To begin with we were treated like a nuisance by most of the various staff members working at the hotel. When checking in we had to wait until staff member completed her personal phone call on her cell phone before being acknowledged. They were extremely rude when we asked about food items "expired" or completely "out" from the continental breakfast selection even though we were the first guests of the morning. Remotes in the lounge area were not able to accessed by customers, as staff would only control them if they were asked several times. Rules in pool & lounge area changed daily, from specific food and beverages allowed in those areas to "NO" food or beverages of any kind allowed anywhere but in your own room. Blizzard came through area during our stay and no snow removal on sidewalks or in front of main entrances was ever done. Slippery floors were hazardous after tredging through several inches of fresh snow to get into the motel. Our group (occupying 10 rooms) comes out to this area 4-5 times a year and will never stay at this motel again. Staff could use some customer service training and/or new management.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redfanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Address: 2720 1st Ave, Spearfish, SD 57783-3211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Fairfield Spearfish
Spearfish Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing