We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Ok Breakfast Bar, suite is not worth the money”
Review of Days Inn Spearfish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Spearfish
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My Husband and I stop in Spearfish as our half way point on about every trip. This hotel was $10 less that the Super 8 we usually stay at. Since its a long drive we always get the jacuzzi sweet. This hotel has a pretty good sweet but the tub is one person only. It is also right next to the front desk. So every guest that asks a question you hear..... at all times of the night. One guest asked if there was anyone in the room next to him and the clerk said no. That guest replied "Good I always like to check first," then preceded to hold a practice session, instruments and all, at 4:30 am. Guess what, we were in the room next to them. So don't bother paying for the suite if you like a quiet room.

On the plus side the first floor rooms have an outside and inside entrance to the rooms. This makes toting luggage short since you can park in front of your door.

However, we will go back to the Super 8 the tub is nicer, room much quieter, and the price is good.

Room Tip: Don't book the jacuzzi sweet... right by the front desk and loud! First floor has inside and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crimsonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
days04293, Owner at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Hi Crimsonk

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as you had hoped. The suite is indeed close by front desk but in all my years as owner Ive not heard anyone mention being able to hear guests checking in or hearing people in the lobby. As for having another guest in the room next to you and having them have a practice session till 4.30, I'm sure had you brought that to the front desk staff's attention they would most certainly have addressed it on your behalf, i also find it hard to believe if as you say it was as noisy that front desk themselves didn't hear it as the room would be just one more up the hall from them and address it as they have been trained to do. We do get a lot of positive feedback about the ground floor rooms and their outside access which as you mentioned makes it a lot easier for luggage.

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 420 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was our first stay at this particular motel, but we would definitely stay there again. The facility was clean and well maintained, but the most impressive part of our stay was the staff - we found them to be very personable, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
days04293, Owner at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Hi Teresa D
We are very happy that your first stay with us was such a pleasant experience, we look forward to serving your needs in the future. I will pass your kind words onto the staff members.

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were in town for a wedding and had left our directions at home. Right off the bat after checking in the gentleman at the front counter gave me excellent directions. The hotel was clean and in good shape for it's age. By far the best part of this stay was the fact that the employees knew what good customer service was.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor in the front so that you can pull right up to your room. There are dual ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
days04293, Owner at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

HI Michelle D

Thank you for the very kind review, I will make sure and pass on the kind words to our front desk staff. We look forward to serving your hotel needs should you come back to Spearfish.

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

After traveling over 700 miles that day, we checked in at the Days Inn Spearfish and found a delightful front desk clerk, fast checkin, clean well-supplied room, a sound night's sleep in a very comfy bed. And best of all, we woke to a delicious extended continental breakfast. A perfect break in our 2100 mile, three day trip! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
days04293, Owner at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Hi sue p

Really appreciate the very kind review. We are so happy that you had a wonderful time visiting our hotel and look forward to seeing you if you return to Spearfish in the future.
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very nice facility--clean, quiet, good location. The staff was very accommodating. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garryowen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
days04293, Owner at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Hi garryowen777

Happy to hear you would stay with us again, we look forward to that. We appreciate the time you took to write a review for our hotel. I will pass on the kind words to our front desk staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Days Inn people at the reservation center (noisy and staffed with non-English-as-a-first-language-speaking people) got the reservation wrong and did not include our pets. But the people at the hotel bent over backwards to get us set up. We were very fortunate and grateful. The room was OK, the rest of it average. No elevators. Chinese place right in front of the hotel was very good. A safe bet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
days04293, Owner at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Hi spmoran,

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Once we arrived at the Days Inn motel in Spearfish everything fell into place like it was a dream. The manager told us to park the bikes under the canopy at night if we wanted or park on the sidewalk in front of our rooms at night and basically made us feel at home. Here we encountered an amazing concept “excellent customer service”. We were treated to a simple complimentary breakfast every morning with waffles, scrambled eggs, bagels, toast, hot coffee, juice or milk. There were fresh homemade cookies almost all day long if you were lucky enough to snag a few before they were gone. They had delicious homemade soup or biscuits & gravy or something hot every day for a light meal after 5pm. There were home cooked pies, ice cream, nuts and chocolate syrup if you felt like a sundae from 5-9pm every evening after you returned from your daily ride. Let’s just say you’d never go to bed hungry. The rooms were very clean, everything worked and there were ample rags and a hose conveniently located so you could wash your bike if you needed to.

1  Thank JohnaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
days04293, Owner at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Hi JohnaBiker
What a really nice review, Thank you. I apologize for taking so long to reply but it seems this one slipped by me but it’s always nice to hear that the guest had such a wonderful time during their stay and we look forward to serving your needs if you decide to come back for next year’s rally.
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
322 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Spearfish

Address: 240 Ryan Rd, I-90 Exit 10, Spearfish, SD 57783-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: $55 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn of Spearfish offers the guest a home away from home atmosphere, near the downtown area of Restaurants, Fast Foods, Bowling Alley, Theater, Water Park and Recreation Center. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning from 6-9 AM in our bright morning room. A great place to stay and an easy drive from Deadwood, Belle Fourche, Rapid City, Spearfish Canyon, Bear Butte State Park, Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Crazy Horse Memorial, Devils Tower, Custer State Park & Needles Highway, and the Badlands National Park. All ground floor rooms with secure outside and inside entrances. 24 hr coffee station in lobby, Guest Laundry. Fridges in all rooms. Non Smoking Hotel Pet Policy: Pet Friendly designated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing