We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room Renovations, Now Let's Work on the Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Room Renovations, Now Let's Work on the Staff”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here two nights during our cross-country drive since Sioux Falls was a convenient place to take a break. Check in was fine--no crowds, quick, efficient. Because we're Starwood Platinum members, we were given a room on a Club level floor, which gave us access to the Club Room for breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. The hotel is undergoing a major renovation, which had already occurred on our floor. Our room was lovely, beautifully appointed with all the usual amenities.

As others have noted, the physical setup of the hotel (the rooms facing a central 6-story atrium with the restaurant/bar on the ground floor) is not conducive to a quiet stay. On our first night, loud voices from the bar area continued well past midnight. I noticed a sign at the front desk the second day which indicated a noise curfew at 11:00 p.m. It must have worked; there was very little loud noise outside the room after 10:00 or so.

Now to the downside: We arrived for breakfast with well over a half hour left in the posted time to find almost nothing available--one cereal container was empty and one had perhaps one serving of cornflakes, one danish, two yogurts, and empty containers which had once held bread, fruit, orange juice, etc. (There was, however, plenty of oatmeal--apparently not a favorite when the outside temp is in the upper 80s.). It was obvious that no one had checked on the room for a long time. My husband went down to the front desk to bring the situation to their attention; and, to their credit, he was given vouchers for us to have breakfast in the restaurant, where our server couldn't have been lovlier.

That afternoon, after we had been out sightseeing and returned to the hotel, we discovered that our keys no longer worked.. Nor did those of our friends. Back to the front desk, but this time the courteous staff must have been on break. No apology about our having been inconvenienced; no explanation as to why this might have happened; and, most importantly, no asking for any identification or even our names before she re-keyed our cards. Yikes! I know we weren't in a big city, but what a potential for misuse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear mjs47,
I would like to apologize for the way your room key experience went. Our guest’s safety and security is our number one priority. What you experienced is not our standard operating procedure and has already been addressed. Although the club lounge breakfast did not meet your expectations, I am happy to hear that our restaurant staff was able to make up for it. Thank you for taking time to share your experience and feedback which allows us to continually improve the service we provide to our guests. We hope to see you back soon!
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    143
    86
    36
    27
See reviews for
117
99
19
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Check-in was fast and easy. Desk clerk noticed we had been put in a handicap room and asked if we needed it. Learning that we did not need it she put us in a regular room. (We were given handicap rooms several times when we booked through priceline.) Room was clean and was a newly remodeled room. Bed was very comfortable. Only complaint I have is that there is no refrigerator, microwave and no free wi-fi in the room. This was an overnight stay for us so we weren't concerned about the lack of amenities but would not have booked longer stay because of them. We had a balcony room overlooking the atrium but we were not bothered by any noise. Nice size pool and workout room. Check-out was a little slower with a line 3 deep but went quickly and smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimarieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear DimarieOhio,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our remodeled rooms. Our property does not have refrigerators and microwaves in each room but we do have them available upon request. Also, we are currently looking into different options pertaining to our internet service so you should be seeing some changes in the near future. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'll start with the bad news... Check in was awful, it took forever. There are 5 or 6 check in stations but only one person checking people in and out on a Saturday early evening. The same person checking people in and out was also answering the phone and taking time to give the caller lots of info, making people wait in line. The parking lot was jammed and a hotel employee directed us to an area where she had parked, and she kindly moved her car for us. She parked in the loading dock area. Check out was the same! After getting into our room and emptying the luggage cart, the cart sat outside our room for approx. 3 mins. During that time someone spat onto the luggage cart!!! We took it downstairs and told the front desk what had happened. The next morning the spit was still on the luggage cart, the girl at the front desk acknowledged that she had seen it... No one cleaned it! As we needed it for our luggage, my husband cleaned the cart so that we could use it... disgusting!

Now for the good news... the room was great, very comfortable bed with high quality bed linens. No fridge or microwave in the room, but a good size flat screen tv. We ordered room service, the lady who delivered the food was very nice and the food was pretty good.

The hotel has been renovated and is in good shape, but the hotel needs more motivated staff. My rating reflects the very nice room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a very nice facility waiting for renovations. It has a beautiful main floor courtyard that accommodates a lounge and dining area. Make sure you avoid a room overlooking the courtyard as any activity in the courtyard echoes off the terrace rooms that overlook the courtyard.

Room Tip: That has already been addressed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kronmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We're SPG members and have stayed in many Sheraton's all over the world. This location needs some serious oversight from the corporate level. Not up to Sheraton standard. The front desk is doesn't have a professional feel about it. On this stay the light fixture in the shower was hanging by its wires and the bed skirt was badly frayed. Don't bother with breakfast on the Club floor, its the worst of any hotel we've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveleater10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Traveleater10,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. As you may already be aware, the hotel is undergoing the final phase of a multi-million dollar reservation. In this phase, our guest rooms are getting a complete overhaul and issues like the ones you expressed in your feedback will be attended to. Also, I am sorry to hear the Club Floor breakfast was less than delightful. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and I am sorry that we failed to do so in your circumstance. We will use your comments to help improve our guest experience. Thank you for being a loyal SPG member. I hope to see you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We were in a remodeled room which was clean, comfy and nicely done. This is an older property, but once you get inside you wouldn't know it. The only negative was that we could hear people talking in the hallway, but turning the thermostat fan on high drowned out the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BanaB,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. As you already know, we are in the final phase of our renovation and are delighted you were pleased with the outcome of the remodeled room. We hope to see you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahtowa, mn
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked through Hotwire on a weekend night. Not a good idea. We got the classic "two double" room with a family of 4 and we are pretty big people. They couldn't upgrade us because the place was full. It wasn't a very good sleeping night at all. We stayed again on the way back through Priceline and were able to upgrade our room to 2 queen beds. Much, much better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pharmboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#38 of 53 in Sioux Falls
176 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center
Address: 1211 N West Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-1334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Sioux Falls Convention Center, Denny Sanford Premier Center and Sioux Falls Arena by indoor walkway, our hotel in Sioux Falls provides a convenient location for easy access to the best Sioux Falls has to offer. With complimentary shuttle service to and from the Sioux Falls Regional Airport, and a variety of Fortune 500 companies nearby including Wells Fargo, Citi Bank, and Great Western Bank, our Sioux Falls hotel makes exploring South Dakota easy and exciting. After completing a $6.5 million renovation, our redesigned guest rooms provide you with all the comforts you need. All rooms and suites are equipped with our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, High Speed Internet Access, and much more. Our Sheraton Club Rooms provide exclusive access to our Sheraton Club Lounge, an upscale space to gather and enjoy complimentary breakfast, evening hors d’oeuvres, wireless High Speed Internet Access and more. Relax in our indoor heated pool and spa or join us in Water's Edge Lounge or Falling Waters Grille for classic bistro cuisine and cocktails. Our downtown Sioux Falls hotel is the ideal venue for your next corporate meeting, wedding or any special event. With our connection to the Sioux Falls Convention Center, featuring 97,400 square feet of modern event space, events are our specialty. Our attentive and experienced staff is here to help you every step of the way and ensure that your event is successful and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sheraton Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing