We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“At least the bed was comfortable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“At least the bed was comfortable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked this hotel on Priceline for $75.00 by selecting a 3-star hotel. We thought we couldn't go wrong with a big, major chain but it was pretty disappointing.

I will say that the low rate made everything a bit more tolerable and the bed was really comfortable. They also have Starbucks coffee in the rooms if you're a fan.

On the downside...I suspect as punishment for booking such a low rate we were placed in a room near both the elevator and the ice machine - both which created a lot of noise during our stay there. If you look through the pictures you'll see the one someone else has posted of the gap between the bottom of the door and the floor - same for our room.

I'm not sure if there was a dance next door at the convention center or what exactly was going on but the hotel was just LOUD the whole time we were there with loud voices in the corridor, doors slamming, girls shrieking at any given moment and at one point a dirty pair of men's boxers abandoned by the elevators (although later someone kicked them over the side). Even without a big 'shindig' next door I can imagine how loud it would be with the atrium and the gap under the door.

The hotel seems nice but just not very clean and the staff seems to be going through the motions. I had also put out the card on the door for the sheets not be changed and receive a $5 gift card but it was slipped back under the door with a card stating I couldn't receive the gift card on check out - but we still had another night to stay. Oh well...at least I saved a little bit of water.

This hotel could really use some deep cleaning and attention to details. The noise is one thing but a dirty room just adds to the ddissatisfaction.

As a last-minute booking this was OK but certainly wouldn't be my first choice for a hotel next time I'm in Sioux Falls. Even the Super 8 hotel over by the mall has better reviews than this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators - maybe at the end of the corridor to not have as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dep_DFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    120
    71
    28
    23
See reviews for
89
80
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Not quite sure what happened, but this place took a downgrade in 2 years! The staff was rude and unattentive. The room has not been updated (there was paint on the INSIDE of the window... not sure how they missed this when cleaning). The shower was just a trickle at 120* or cold... no in between (I could not wash my hair in the shower... had to do it in the sink!) The WiFi is insanely priced at $2.99 per hour or $10.99 per day. On the plus side: the coffee in the room is good (Starbucks), the public atrium is beautiful but loud, and they do really have a great restaurant staff with mediocre food. We will not return. It certainly is not worth their rating. Perhaps, if you are a Club Member... it is worth it. CERTAINLY DO NOT use a 3RD party to book a 3 star in Sioux Falls... you are better off with a 2.5 -- and end up on the other end of town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor... or upgrade to Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KVCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

I have had to stay in this hotel twice recently for business. I travel to Sioux Falls routinely and stay at other hotels. The staff at the hotel is not engaged, the lobby / atrium are very loud, the restaurant is mediocre, and the rooms are tired. The bathrooms are very dated, moldy, cracked tiles, etc.

Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for not meeting your expectations. I am pleased to announce we will begin a complete room renovation this fall. We are very excited about our renovation. We invite our guest to view our two model rooms we have on display.

I hope you will allow us an opportunity to serve you in the future.

Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sioux Falls hotels

Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The location is ok, as it is close to the interstate but it is far from many of the major attractions. However, it is attached to the convention center. The rooms were a good size and very clean. I booked via a third party and paid about $80 a night. The hotel staff was very welcoming. The only down side was that they charge for internet access.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchic_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you are looking for the best and most reasonable hotel in Sioux Falls, look no further.
The staff here was wonderful and my experience was fantastic- I generally do not fill out surveys but these guys deserve the rating-.

Room Tip: 6th floor has the best suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikifozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Pros:
*Booked on a travel website about a month in advance; paid only $79/night;
*Spacious, clean room and bathroom;
*Very comfortable bed, dark blinds, & good temperature control;
*Convenient for attending event in attached convention center;
*Buffalo Wild Wings within walking distance;
*Free bottled water, coffee, & iron/ironing board in room;
*Very friendly front-desk service and (free) late check-out upon request.

Cons:
*No free wi-fi or microwave/fridge in room and no breakfast included;
*Found a few hairs in bathroom (sink & shower) upon checking in;
*Apparently the hot tub hadn't been turned on first thing in the morning, so it wasn't actually hot when we used it around 1 pm;
*Noise from open floorplan/ bar below is somewhat distracting.

We would definitely stay here again, but if you are a light sleeper, or an incredibly picky/hard-to-please traveler, you may want to keep looking!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffiLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Staff was unfriendly. We were charged $13 for a 90 second phone call. They will nickel and dime you for everything. Plenty of other options in the Sioux Falls area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 67584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I understand the frustration of long distance telephone pricing in a hotel due to common use of cell phones. However, I will have our telephone vendor look in to our pricing system.

Again, thank you very much for letting us know about your experience. I hope you will allow us an opportunity to serve you in the future.

Karen Masterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
0.1 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
1.2 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#9 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center
Address: 1211 North West Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Sioux Falls Convention Center, Denny Sanford Premier Center and Sioux Falls Arena by indoor walkway, our hotel in Sioux Falls provides a convenient location for easy access to the best Sioux Falls has to offer. With complimentary shuttle service to and from the Sioux Falls Regional Airport, and a variety of Fortune 500 companies nearby including Wells Fargo, Citi Bank, and Great Western Bank, our Sioux Falls hotel makes exploring South Dakota easy and exciting. After completing a $6.5 million renovation, our redesigned guest rooms provide you with all the comforts you need. All rooms and suites are equipped with our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, High Speed Internet Access, and much more. Our Sheraton Club Rooms provide exclusive access to our Sheraton Club Lounge, an upscale space to gather and enjoy complimentary breakfast, evening hors d’oeuvres, wireless High Speed Internet Access and more. Relax in our indoor heated pool and spa or join us in Water's Edge Lounge or Falling Waters Grille for classic bistro cuisine and cocktails. Our downtown Sioux Falls hotel is the ideal venue for your next corporate meeting, wedding or any special event. With our connection to the Sioux Falls Convention Center, featuring 97,400 square feet of modern event space, events are our specialty. Our attentive and experienced staff is here to help you every step of the way and ensure that your event is successful and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline and Starwood so you can book your Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing