We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
782 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is definitely a city center hotel. Minutes walk from restaurants and shops and adjacent to the main street. There is also a trolley that passes by nearby that takes you to the falls and around town for a dollar.
The hotel is modern with good facilities and friendly staff.
The room was comfortable, clean and quiet.
Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    244
    110
    45
    13
See reviews for
156
121
37
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in this hotel while traveling through South Dakota. It was a weeknight and we decided to walk the neighborhood. This hotel is only a block from a river walk and is on the end of a very nice street of small shops and restaurants that offer outdoor seating. Lovely for the summer nights! And our room had a decent couch for resting late evening and a really good bed for a wonderful night's sleep. The bathroom is small, but functional. This is a big hotel that caters to conventions, but the location and amenities make it a plus in my rating system.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hallway. I felt sorry for those who had a room by the elevators and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy4833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stopped here on our way to Rapid City for a reunion. I looked at TripAdvisor and chose this hotel due to the reviews. Everything about this hotel was excellent, If I'm ever in Sioux Falls again I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anotherheelsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Could not believe the tiny bathroom. Had nicer bathroom at a Super 8 we stayed at the night before for MUCH less per night. No free breakfast though other Holiday Inns provide it. Comfortable beds. Narrow space to wait for elevators by front desk. Inadequate for multiple families with luggage carts.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VetteGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are a full service Holiday Inn with a restaurant open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. As such we do not have a complimentary breakfast that would be offered at a Holiday Inn Express, which do not have full service restaurants. We have various room types available including suites with larger guest bathrooms. During your next visit to Sioux Falls please contact me about reserving this category of room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The concierge lounge was a pleasant surprise. Though an IHG Platinum Member, I did not except a lounge in little Sioux Falls. The spread was delicious and fair selection of drinks and wine. The hostess, "Bernie" was a sweetheart, finding time to attend to everyone despite the place being busy. Everything, from shuttle from airport to check in to housekeeping was top notch. It was clear employees like their jobs and treated customers well. Good job Sioux Falls HI!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

In town for a midweek break to see some music at the Washington Pavilion,this Hotel has been here for awhile but still has modern class. Great lounge,nice front desk staff,warm pool and a great location at a reasonable rate for downtown.Walking distance to Beer and Burgers(J and L Beers) or Minerva's, Sald Bar during lunch or up scale dining for Dinner. Great shops on Phillips Ave.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony room looking towards Phillips Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swainer1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Im going to say it again because it is very important if you want to sleep: BRING EARPLUGS. At first glance waking into this hotel, it seems quite nice, almost impressive. However, I came to find this to be a very clever facade.

First, the front desk staff was not friendly at all. I had just gotten done driving for 14 hours and did not appreciate it but got over it because I just wanted to eat and sleep. Went down to the restaurant. Staff there was nice at least. Food was quite good.

Then, to try and sleep. The rooms were nice. Private balcony. This town is surprisingly noisy for how adorable it seems at first glance. There is a clock tower near the hotel that goes off every hour even at night. There are also very frequent loud trains blowing their whistles at night (I'm going to estimate at least 2 per hour). Then I came to find that even the balcony was a negative thing. The sounds from the street seem to bounce around the balcony and make everything sound as if it is right outside your balcony door.

If you're really lucky, you'll experience a group of drunk women down the hall slamming doors all night and getting ice until 5 am. And another warning, when you are asleep and someone slams the door just right (like those girls all night), you wake up questioning whether you heard a gun shot or door slam. Called the front desk twice and still had to deal with the girls being noisy all night.

I finally just left since I wasn't getting any sleep anyway. Again, the front desk was not friendly upon my check out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WATraveler58708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback to us. We do apologize about the noise. July is a very busy time for downtown Sioux Falls and can be full with people and activities. Please reach out to me directly when planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#12 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing