We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“City Center hits the Target” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“City Center hits the Target”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

In town for a midweek break to see some music at the Washington Pavilion,this Hotel has been here for awhile but still has modern class. Great lounge,nice front desk staff,warm pool and a great location at a reasonable rate for downtown.Walking distance to Beer and Burgers(J and L Beers) or Minerva's, Sald Bar during lunch or up scale dining for Dinner. Great shops on Phillips Ave.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony room looking towards Phillips Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swainer1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    201
    100
    41
    10
See reviews for
125
103
31
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Im going to say it again because it is very important if you want to sleep: BRING EARPLUGS. At first glance waking into this hotel, it seems quite nice, almost impressive. However, I came to find this to be a very clever facade.

First, the front desk staff was not friendly at all. I had just gotten done driving for 14 hours and did not appreciate it but got over it because I just wanted to eat and sleep. Went down to the restaurant. Staff there was nice at least. Food was quite good.

Then, to try and sleep. The rooms were nice. Private balcony. This town is surprisingly noisy for how adorable it seems at first glance. There is a clock tower near the hotel that goes off every hour even at night. There are also very frequent loud trains blowing their whistles at night (I'm going to estimate at least 2 per hour). Then I came to find that even the balcony was a negative thing. The sounds from the street seem to bounce around the balcony and make everything sound as if it is right outside your balcony door.

If you're really lucky, you'll experience a group of drunk women down the hall slamming doors all night and getting ice until 5 am. And another warning, when you are asleep and someone slams the door just right (like those girls all night), you wake up questioning whether you heard a gun shot or door slam. Called the front desk twice and still had to deal with the girls being noisy all night.

I finally just left since I wasn't getting any sleep anyway. Again, the front desk was not friendly upon my check out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WATraveler58708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback to us. We do apologize about the noise. July is a very busy time for downtown Sioux Falls and can be full with people and activities. Please reach out to me directly when planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The airport shuttle employees are the best. I really enjoyed the Priority Club service as well. All around a great stay and I highly recommend this Hotel. The food is great and the employees on the front desk are very polite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

While traveling across the country, my boyfriend and I needed a stopping point. Apparently this is a non-tourist town, but it is the cutest! Future retirement town! We absolutely loved it. Nothing is really open on Sunday, but we did have so much fun swimming in the indoor pool and drinking at the hotel bar!! Wonderful staff!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelpiot65
Level Contributor
140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying at this hotel off and on for almost 5 years. Everybody at the front desk is very friendly. The rooms are really nice. It has a nice workout facility and restaurant. I highly recommend it because it is close to everything off of Main Street.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpilot65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hotel is located in a great location that is easily within walking distance of restaurants, bars and the falls. I came with group of 30 people and some of the rooms did not have refrigerators and we were not given any points for this stay because the hotel has a policy of not giving points for group reservations. This was surprising because I have recently stayed at other holiday Inns and points were given. Overall it is a nice hotel but next time we are in Sioux Falls, we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Jay J,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. While we are pleased to read that you liked the location of our hotel, it is regrettable that some issues with your reservation prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your experience.

We look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recently revamped and updated. It is in a great location downtown and has great amenities. However the bathrooms are extremely small and cramped. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and the restaurant is decent for being a hotel restaurant. This hotel is in great proximity to the Sioux Falls Airport and they have a shuttle that will deliver you to the Airport.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mountainboymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
2.5 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#9 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Address: 100 W 8th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing