We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding Staff, Lovely Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Staff, Lovely Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

As stated by previous reviewers, the exterior of this property is a little outdated. However, its interior is beautiful and stunning! The hotel is so chock-full of amenities and such bright, cheerful and gracious staff that it really could be worthy of a Crowne Plaza.

It's a large, rambling property with tons of meeting space, an airy and gracious lobby full of nooks to sit and stations to work at; there's a full service restaurant (breakfast, lunch, dinner - and room service!) as well as a well staffed and stylish bar.

Our room was spacious, comfortable, and came with a balcony - which was phenomenal! While lacking a fridge or microwave, it didn't lack for anything else - and the cable selection on the tv was very entertaining. Our king size bed was comfortable in the extreme, and the plentiful pillows luxurious.

Above and beyond all else, every staff member was nothing but friendly to us - helpful, positive, and completely willing to answer questions no matter how ridiculous.

Special thanks go to Londa at the front desk for being courteous, quick, and friendly; also to Heidi for helping us out with several odd requests late at night with a smile every time!

As a final tribute to this property, I am an IHG employee from another state - and I would love to work here! it was so beautiful and full of positive energy, staffed with people who were happy in their jobs and working in a luxurious, beautiful environment. I was more than a little jealous!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britbabe510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    228
    106
    44
    12
See reviews for
149
118
32
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is great if you want to stay in Downtown Sioux Falls. It's only a short walk to Phillips Ave and all the shops, cafes and restaurants. However, the hotel is old and needs some updates. The a/c in my room was very noisy. It woke me up every time it came on. Also, my room was on the 3rd floor above a nice outdoor patio; but the noise from people visiting and partying on the patio was loud and went on until I called the front desk after midnight and asked that they shut down the patio for the night so hotel guests could get some sleep. The bathroom is small and has no vanity -- just a pedestal sink, so not much space for your personal items. The hotel personnel were nice and very helpful. The city is very clean and quiet. A very nice place to visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyBuffaloNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do have one more round of renovations taking place this winter to remodel our guest room bathrooms. There will be new vanities to replace the old pedestal sinks and this will add valuable counter space. Please contact me when you plan to return to Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here on our cross country trip. We did a priceline.com "express deal". It was totally worth it. The parking was close and check in was fast. The room was clean and modern. The bathroom had bath and body works amenities and a clean shower which is always important. The gym had the basics and got a good run in before we ordered dinner from the restaurant/bar from down stairs. I had a great ahi tuna salad and he had the wings which were so-so. But it was super nice that we could call down to place our order and the bar tender called us in our room when it was ready to pick up. We would totally stay here again for a over night stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
541 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just a few blocks a away for
Restaurants and local shops on Phillips ave.

The hotel looks very good, the restaurant is ample and located near the pool and gym.

The pool is small and gets deep really quick. Good thing it has a rope to indicate that. The gym is small too but has the basic necessary equipment.

The rooms are spacious. Some of the rooms have balconies some others are just normal.
The bathrooms don't really have counter space even thought they build shelves and got creative where to place the shampoo, location etc.

The beds are very comfortable. The closet which is right off from the main door doesn't have a door.

I really like the couch in the room. Even though is not deep like a lounge couch is great for seating and has a pull out bed.

Overall a good stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've had several stays at this hotel when visiting for business, and have been more than satisfied each time. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The hotel bar, restaurant and room service offer a good selection. Staff is friendly and professional. The location is very good. The hotel is situated on the downtown Sculpture Walk, and so it is an easy stroll to good restaurants, shopping, and the sculptures that line the street. In addition, it is a short walk to Falls Park, where you can see the falls themselves, or walk or jog along the river path. The only downside is that the rail yard is about half a mile away, and so during the night, train horns can be heard at times. It generally does not bother me, but it might awaken a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Some rooms comes with refrigerators. If you don't like the sound of the motor running in the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Found a nice place to stay downtown Sioux Falls. The hotel is close to the park, which is nice for a morning walk. Really good restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed a steakhouse named Minerva's. The executive floor upgrade was worth the extra charge and included a breakfast and evening cocktails with apps. Bernie in the hospitality lounge was a delight. Room was clean.

Room Tip: Stay on executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on August 27, 2013 for one night. It was very clean and in a nice location for downtown restaurants and shops. We did not have any food there, but enjoyed a couple drinks in the bar and the staff there was great. It is a few blocks from Falls Park, which I would recommend taking in if you have the time, as it is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#11 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing