We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, updated rooms; beware of weddings/parties on top floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Entire hotel has been recently updated, hotel has been there a long time (grew up in this area, no longer live there). Bathrooms are very small, not much they could do about it in the renovation. Rooms were across from the elevator, did not hear noise from that. No refrigerator in our room. On your own to get luggage from car to room, not enough luggage carts for size of hotel. Used the hot tub, was fine. Walked to the new Sioux River Greenway, nice walk there. Nice restaurants just a few blocks down Phillips or Main.

BUT...we forgot when we booked that this hotel is notorious for noise from a band or DJ on top floor going thru the entire hotel. Rooms were on the 7th floor, three floors from the band, noise from the wedding band was unbearable at 10 pm, still bad at 11:30 pm, only comment from front office was "we've sent security up there and asked them to tone it down" and "they have to stop at midnight". Even with our white noise machine, it was not possible to sleep until the band quit after midnight. The booming from the bass was as bad as any hotel I've been in. One room asked for the general manager, left a voice mail, one room was comp'd for that night, other room didn't ask for general manager, no comp'd room.

We were there during the Sturgis motorcycle event, lots of bikes, no noise from them, only from the wedding band.

New Hilton Garden Inn under construction two block away, I'd try that before this hotel, although the trains are required to blow their horns just a block from the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Pleased to hear you found the hotel clean and updated. We do apologize for the noise from busy events in the city and within the hotel. Please contact me when planning your next trip to Sioux Falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 825 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were passing through Sioux Falls late in the evening. Holiday Inn accepted a $45 bid on Priceline. We were thrilled with the downtown location, easy access to restaurants in the morning (we did not partake in the hotel breakfast), and easy parking. They are pet friendly to dogs under 50lbs. There are rooms directly across from the elevators, so be sure to ask for something else. We were given an 8th floor corner room on the southwest side - as far away from the elevator as we could get. The room was large, had a king bed (comfy), and a balcony with a beautiful view of the city. The bathroom was a bit small. The experience was great - hotel staff professional and friendly, rooms were clean, and our stay was restful for the next day of travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed one night for a wedding event. We had a king with a small couch. These rooms have been updated and that's really nice, but the bathrooms are pretty small and the toilet was tricky...once we figured it out it worked smoothly. We didn't eat there since we were eating at the events. The front desk staff were very pleasant and no problems checking in or out. I thought the price was reasonable too.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Roxie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is right downtown in Sioux Falls. The views from the hotel are great. We booked through HOTWIRE & got a great deal in a room with a balcony. Staff very amenable. Hot breakfast was included with plenty of choice & you can have made to order omelettes. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent and the rooms were clean. The pool was a nice relaxing finish for the day. A nightcap in the in house bar before bed washed the dust of the road off. This was a nice layover for a night on our way across country. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Staff were friendly, however the hotel is tired. Benefit was that the Executive Floor rooms had balconies, coffee in the morning and wine in the evening.

Centrally located, I was in town for business and we used the conference facilities at the hotel.

Meals in the hotel restaurant are average, I would suggest walking down the block to one of many nice restaurants.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to fill out this review. We have one more round of renovations this Fall in the guest bathrooms to complete our property renewal. Please come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Best choice between this and the Sheraton, primarily because of location (old town area with some cool restaurants in walking distance) and the fact it's most recently refurbished. Great helpful staff. Obviously best to get the highest room possible. 9th floor is some kind of exec floor that's the ideal if you can afford it/get upgraded.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Hudtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sioux Falls, SD
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
2.8 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Address: 100 W 8th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range: $99 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing