We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“WOW -Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW -Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

What to say....GREAT PLACE!!!

Everything was wonderful! Service, rooms, location, activities around the place.

You can walk to the falls, would take about 15-20 min to get right to the edge of the falls. The downtown area is amazing - you can walk out the front of the hotel and into the best area I've ever seen in my travels. There are sculptures, flowers, outside eating areas, wine tastings, and boutiques – just such a friendly/inviting area. Sioux Falls is on my list of towns to come back to! And I will stay at this HI again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbum330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBosch, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience. Sioux Falls is a wonderful community and we are so blessed as residents to be able to enjoy our downtown all the time.

We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future and again thank you for sharing your outstanding experience.

Tom Bosch,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    228
    106
    44
    12
See reviews for
149
118
32
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, mainly because it is VERY centrally located and close to friends who live in Sioux Falls. It's a short walk to everything downtown, even the falls. Lots of free parking. Clean, comfortable rooms have very few frills, but this is a Holiday Inn after all. It could have been a better value, but the extra $20 I paid to stay here I easily saved in cab fare to and from downtown. There is some construction going on in the hotel and we were warned when we checked in that we might hear crews after 9am, but we didn't hear a peep. The next time we visit, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Basic...but comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shawnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Not worth the money! We stayed July 15th. 5th floor. Staff was grumpy. No coffee in the room for the morning. One lamp was broken, light bulb hanging out of the socket with bare wires. Tub and bathroom was dirty. Light switches and walls dirty. Waited 5 minutes every time we needed to use the elevators. Got tired of waiting for elevators so we walked down 5 flights once. Found ourselves OUTSIDE! Had to walk halfway around building to get back in. Would have liked to send an E-mail directly to the Centre but no way to do that on the website. Never again. DaVal Johnson

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crosswired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBosch, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Sioux Falls. I am so sorry that we let you down and you were disappointed with your stay with us recently. Our goal is to provide outstanding service to each and every guests and it is evident by your comments that we failed to deliver. As part of your feedback you stated that you had tried to find a way on our website to send an email. Our Holiday Inn website does offer an opportunity to contact us directly if you would like and all emails come directly to my attention.

I would really appreciate if you would contact me directly at the hotel via email (Tom.Bosch@sfcchotel.com) or via phone at 605-339-2000 ext. 7417. It would be great to talk to you directly regarding your specific concerns.

Again thank you so much for providing your feedback and I am sorry your concerns. Please contact me at your convenience.

Tom Bosch,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. It is placed in the heart of Sioux Falls, allowing you to access shops, restaurants and bars by foot. They have a free shuttle from the airport, too. But that's all. They do not offer free breakfast. They do not offer free internet which is a must these days. They offer small and (very) outdated rooms which are clean but this not enough to claim the $140 per night! Hey, Sioux Falls is not Chicago neither Manhattan. Since they have their standard customers (pilots, flight crew, CEO's, etc) it seems they don't bother. I stayed on a Saturday night and from my room I could hear loud music due a college party taking place at the hotel. Based on previous reviews here at Tripadvisor this seems to be a weekly event in the hotel. So be aware that things may not be so calm on a Saturday night. Bottom line at 3 am, the same night, the fire alarm start ringing. Everybody had to evacuate! After the FD came and the alarm went off, we could go back to our rooms. The time was already 4 am....So you see how nice my night was... The next morning no apology from the front desk. Previous reviews complain that the front desk staff is "cold" and without a smile. I agree. When you talk to them they try to be helpful but they don't deliver this "welcome" or "I am happy to assist" feeling. Most important issue: When I booked the hotel from the HI page I requested a room far from the elevators. I got exactly the opposite and my room was next to elevators. You may think this is a detail, but in this word where competition is high, details matter... My advice: Please drop the price by half (at least)...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grevo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stopped here while traveling to Rapid City and Yellowstone. The hotel was crowded and noisy. There were only three elevators which were always crowded and we had to wait several minutes to obtain one. We stayed here two nights. The second night there was a wedding and there were loud, drunk obnoxious people yelling and running up and down the hallway well after midnight. The rooms were small and so were the bathrooms and beds. Cleanliness was okay, although could've been better. The pool was also small and crowded and the hot tub did not look clean/had several kids in and out of it. The restaurant was nice and had great food, but the service was pretty slow. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelab71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times because my company puts me here. I do like the nearby shopping,however, there is something about this hotel that I just do not like. The rooms are a dated floorplan and many rooms have odd views of a concrete parking lot or an obstucted view of downtown. The lobby smells like chlorine from the open pool in THE HOLIDOME (which is a concept that needs to be put to rest). Somebody please rescue this hotel and tear it down.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBosch, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience 2 days ago regarding your stay with us back in January. We appreciate you staying with us many times as was noted on your review and apologize that you've had some issues with the hotels floor plan and your room location. We began a major renvoation two months ago and are investing 5.4 million dollars back into the hotel to make improvements. We appreciate your patience as we are working to improve the hotel. The hotel would be happy to reserve a room on a higher floor to give you a better view of the downtown area if that is what you desire.

I recently sent you an email to your Trip Advisor account and look forward to hearing from you directly to discuss your specific issues.

Again thank you so very much for taking the time to provide your feedback and we will continue to work on making improvements to the hotel.

Tom Bosch,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckick19
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

AVOID! We stayed here while it was being renovated. Paint chips everywhere and rolled up carpet remnants in the middle of the hallways. Our 'city view' balcony room (which we paid extra for) gave a 2nd floor view of the employee smoke break area and the parking area exit ramp. The HVAC system, for some reason unbeknownst to us, was set on a motion sensor. So in the middle of the night, it would cycle on and off, waffling from hot to cold. And it didn't do so quietly so we BOTH woke up all night. The front desk staff, when we talked to them to remedy the problem, called the maintenance man on speaker phone whose response was "whaddya want me to punch back in? I'm on break!". Ahem. The front desk girl was cold, apathetic, patronizing and dead behind the eyes, no follow up, no concern. The bartender had 3 guests having cocktails and was behaving like it was the middle of a dinner rush, she was curt, harried and snappy. Just not a happy group of people. My husband summed it up when he said "I don't think I saw one person smile in the entire building." On our way back through, we stayed at Clubhouse Hotel and Suites...OMG....night and day. And it was cheaper!! I have reviewed that as well, do yourself a favor and stay there instead!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBosch, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experience during your time with us in Sioux Falls. I am very sorry that our hotel didn't meet your needs and that your service experience was less than favorable. We are currently undergoing a 5.4 million dollar renvoation that will address many of the product issues that you encountered. I'm only sorry that this wasn't completed upon your stay with us recently. We pride ourselves in delivering excellent customer service and it was evident by your comments that you did not receive that in the lounge or front desk areas during your stay with us and I once again apologize for the experience.

I recently emailed your Trip Advisor Account so that we could visit directly regarding your issues and I look forward to talking with you soon regarding your experience. Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to visiting with you soon.

Cordially,

Tom Bosch,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#11 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing