We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel for a Stayover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Empire Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for a Stayover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

Overall a nice hotel. We had to switch rooms as they had recently done some repairs or remodeling in the first room and there was a strong residual solvent smell. The staff was very accommodating and the second room was fine. The breakfast and pool were more than satisfactory. We had a little difficulty driving right to the front door as it sits off the road a bit and the location isn't the greatest, but nothing major. Overall it is recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indyspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    121
    42
    12
    4
See reviews for
116
110
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

We decided to stay here after finding a great deal online. The hotel is very nice and was recently remodeled. We checked in around 3pm & our room looked great. Very new decor and bedding. But then the problem started... our room was on the first floor next to the steps with paper thin walls & all we could hear was what sounded loud banging noises from people going up and down non stop. The hotel was full the day we stayed so we couldnt change rooms & of course people were going up and down at all hours. Around 11pm it did finally quiet down & we got some sleep, but it was very irritating to say the least!! The breakfast in the morning was a little above average with a very nice eating area. They do have a small pool, but no hot tub. I think we would stay at the hotel again, as long as we are NOT near the steps!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funinvegas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwempiretowers, Manager at BEST WESTERN Empire Towers, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Let me start by thanking you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create a enjoyable experience for every guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and have a great day!

Danyell Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

This was a stop-over on our way to Mount Rushmore. Hotel is located near the interstate with lots of eating establishments to choose from in the area. I did see a mall nearby but did not go inside. The room was clean and the indoor pool was nice for our child to burn off some energy after the drive. Also, if you have a chance...a visit to The Falls is a must. After dinner we went to The Falls and walked around. While there, we learned there was going to be a lazer light show. That was just an added bonus and an unexpected surprise. They had a nice continental breakfast but the room fills up.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattieKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwempiretowers, Manager at BEST WESTERN Empire Towers, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Let me start by thanking you for completing your review on Trip Advisor. We use all information received to ensure each and every guests satisfaction. The team at the Best Western Empire Towers is thrilled to have been apart of your trip to Mount Rushmore and hope to see you again soon.

Again thank you and have a great day!

Danyell Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
611 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

We we're going to stay at a Red Roof in as all we needed was a place to sleep because we were getting back to room late and leaving early next morning. But then I found a super cheap rate for the best western which proved to be much nicer. It was spotlessly clean, big room, great bedding ( including 4 pillows per bed!) It was set back enough to be free of any road noise. They had 2 high speed internet terminals for free guest use, A nice indoor pool, and what looked like a much better than average Breakfast ( that we had to miss as we had breakfast with a client) The girl at the desk was cheerfull and very helpfull. Check-in was automatic as we had prepaid online.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed here one night whle in town for daughters sporting event at the convention center. The price couldn't be beat! We got a great deal on the Best Western site. I booked just one week before hand and the rate was an internet only rate and it had to be paid right then and was not refundable. But, I paid less than half of what it would have cost to stay right next to the convention center, and it was only a 4 mile drive.
Was right accross the street from the huge shopping mall and very close to many resturants.
Room was a basic hotel room, nothing fancy. My only complaint would be the bedding. The sheets were very pilly, and the pillows were quite lumpy to my taste, but everyone has different preferences to pillows. I still got a pretty decent nights sleep for a hotel. We were on the second floor and could hear people walking around above us and when they had the water on, but that is not unusual for a hotel either.
I was impressed with the FREE breakfast! Very nicely organized room, with coffee machine always on. The had the waffle maker with strawberries and whip cream, omelettes, sausage, biscuits and gravy and then the usual bagel, breads, yogart, fruit and cereals.
They had two computers right in the front lobby for free internet access, and they also had free WIFI in the rooms, and it worked great. I was up and running in just a matter of seconds!
So all in all, I would stay here again, especially for the rate we got.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CruiseLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen, sd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

This was by first our worst experience with a hotel. First, they lost our reservation. Then second instead of charging the amount for the rooms to the hotel gift card we gave them they charged it to our credit card. Which couldn't be reversed until 2-3 business days. So, since it was a weekend we were out over a hundred dollars because it couldn't be reversed until that following week. And then never even apologized. also very thin walls

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahneiland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Stayed for one night with my wife and dog. Nice, clean room. My only issue with the room is there was no "comfy" chair or love seat. Just two queen beds and desk with two chairs. After 11 hours in the car, it would have nice to sit in a nice chair with my feet up. The breakfast was fine. Typical continental but then they had pre-made omlettes, ham and I think biscuits and gravy. The hotel is located about 5 miles south of I-90, but it seems like most of the hotels in Sioux Falls are located south of the highway, rather than right off the I-90. Hotel was across the street from a mall, I seem to recall, and there plenty of fast food, chain restaurant options surrounding the location. Overall, a good hotel for the value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFCnyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
3.8 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#11 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#8 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
#16 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Empire Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Empire Towers

Property: BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
Address: 4100 W Shirley Pl, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-0707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sioux Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#21 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Empire Towers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Empire Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Empire Towers Hotel Sioux Falls
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western
Best Western Empire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing