We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People seldom praise good service; would rather bash hotel, instead.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“People seldom praise good service; would rather bash hotel, instead.”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Either this hotel has come a long way, or people prefer to bash it, rather than write up good service. Our recent stay on 10/2/10 was flawless. The room was clean, and everything worked. Jason called us within an hour after check-in to see if everything was OK. While we were in the indoor water park, they noticed we were not wearing arm bands. All guests are req'd to wear them in the water park; we were unaware of the procedure. I went to the front desk to obtain arm bands, and they said we had already been issued 6 bands. I stated we didn't get any, so they issued 3 more. When we got back to our room, I found all 6 bands in the paperwork. Same for the washcloths, I thought we were short, so they sent one up. Upon recount, they were all there. The kids will love the water park, which was also clean, and well maintained. There's not much that can be done about the nearby airport. I would recommend using the A/C or heater to provide some white noise while sleeping. It may interest you to know that the airport even interfered with the Festival of Bands Contest which we were in town for. The breakfast is more like a Continental Breakfast, w/sausage added, (but you pay for it).
They really should add another (self serve) waffle maker. It only takes a couple occupied tables to create a long waiting line. We paid about $17 for the buffet (2 adults + .99 child). I probably would have spent about the same at Mickey-D's, but this was much more convenient.

I really wish more people would provide positive feedback, I was almost afraid to stay here, originally.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1xcalibur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments; I can't tell you how much we appreciate them. We collectively work so hard to provide a memorable experience for our guests, to be a welcoming home away from home.

I hope you noticed the color boards in our lobby showcasing the renovations to our restauarnt and lounge coming up this fall, and the remaining section for all new beds! Thrilling, and we can't wait to show our guests!

We know there are many choices in Sioux Falls, thank you again for selecting the BW Ramkota Hotel, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    170
    140
    55
    44
See reviews for
283
79
19
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2010

After reading the past reviews I was really nervous about staying at this hotel but, what a surprise. The hotel was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. They accomodated us all the way. We felt they were really happy to have our bussiness. We were booked into a second story room to begin with and when we went to enter the rear of the hotel closest to our assigned room we found stairs. My husband has a breathing problem and with no elevator it was impossible for us to carry all of our belongings us 2 flight of stairs. When I went back to the front desk to request another room the clerk could nothave been more helpful. Our room was large, clean, fairly quiet and comfortable. We may have had one of the newly updated rooms if the past reviews are accurat. We also were allowed by hotel staff to look at the new suites. Wow is all I can say. They were great and reasonable priced. Two baths one with a whirlpool, a large entertainment area, and a large bedroom with it's own bath. Very nice. We did not eat at the hotel but I did look in and can tell you everything looked very clean. The hotel is located by the airport and I have to say the only compliant I could ever muster is at 6 am the flights in and out started. The area of Sioux Fallsis easy to navigate so the hotel location was central to most of the area. We at the Tea Steak house (see review), an old favorite from our past. I would stay at this hotel again anytime!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you so much for your nice comments; we appreciate them so much!

We hope you will be back again soon. We not only will take you to the airport but shuttle locally as well. You can come to Sioux Falls to Christmas shop and we'll drop you off and pick you up!

Thank you again,

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I lived in Sioux Falls for many years, and the Ramkota was a frequent destination for business meetings, as well as social functions. We've stayed there several times on visits since we moved away seven years ago, and the kids have always enjoyed the slides in the indoor pool.

It seems now that they're not even trying. The rooms are run-down, the staff seems apathetic.
I know they cannot do anything about the neighboring businesses, but there is an abandoned hotel next door (I believe it used to be a Howard Johnson hotel). The plate glass is broken and it looks terrible. As I said, I realize this is not their fault, but it just seems the whole area has really gone down hill. On my next visit, I will probably try a hotel closer to the mall on the south side of town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momwdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for your comments; hearing directly from our guests is the best way to measure our succuess, and area's of opportunity.

I am very sorry we did not live up to either one of our standards, your comments will be shared with staff and corrective action steps will be taken.

In reference to our neighbors, they are scheduled for tear down very soon; City Leaders are aggressively working on this situation to get it resolved.

We thank you so much for your business; please watch for specials on line and impending improvements.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sioux Falls hotels

Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We arrived around 1P, the room was not ready & we were told that check in was not guaranteed until 3P, needless to say we sat in the lobby & waited until 430P when the room was finally ready. We chose this hotel while on a road trip, it is relativity close to the highway, but we chose it to relax for the day/evening in the pool/water park. The big water slide was not in operation when we arrived, with no reason to be closed, after several calls to the front desk & finally telling them we would be checking out (the kids were disappointed) the slide was finally up & running. The pool/water park area was then closed shortly there after due to a guests' child having defecated in the water. The room was okay, and after having waited until 430P for the room to be cleaned, it was not clean. There was hair in the shower & bathroom, plastic wrap from the soap left from the last guest, and over all an "old" feeling. The hotel needs updating. The staff is very young and laid back, without a care/concern. After settling in, we found there are other better options only 2 exits away off the highway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliveryas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments, we do appreciate them, and learn from them.

Your comments will be shared with the staff so corrective measures can be taken. We recently won our 4th Directors Award from Best Western for the cleanliness and upkeep of our guest rooms and building. I am very sorry we did not live up to either one of our standards, and believe it's not the norm.

We do appreciate your business and hope we have the opportunity to earn your loyalty in the future.

Sincerely,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This hotel could be so much better than it is if they would update and clean it. The waterpark is great and if they would update and clean the rest of the hotel, this would be a great place. As it is, it is a below average Best Western when you adjust for price and the need for updating and cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBC97223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments, seeing our product through the eyes of our guests is always the best. I am sorry you caught us on an off day if our up keep was in question. This is usally a strength. I am excited to share we'll be starting a restaurant and lounge renovation next month in reference to updating. We do hope we see you again!

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Definitely an older business style hotel meant for conferences. The indoor waterpark has something for families, and we regret not being able to use it on our brief overnight stay. The first room we had smelled of rotten eggs, but were able to get a different room. A tad small and definitey on the older side; small closet doors stuck, the door locks looked like they needed to be screwed in tighter, and the beds looked like something from the late 1980s. Irregardless, we settled down rather comfortably and we slept great. For the price, no continental breakfast was a disappointment and we weren't going to pay for a breakfast in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments; hearing directly from our guests is the best way to meausre our performance.

I am thrilled to tell you that the last section of beds have been ordered for October 2010 so all our beds will be new; as well as a restaurant and lounge renovation. We are a full service hotel but offer complimentary whole fresh fruit, coffee and newspapers in the morning as well as .99 cent meals for children.

We do hope we will see you again soon-

Sincerely,

Jan Grunewaldt'
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed on last night of our trip. Rooms were clean. restrauant was okay but service was slow.
They had a nice pool area that boys got to relax in before last leg of drive home\price was just fine

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmdayks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments; we appreciate hearing from our guests, it just helps us grow. We will be implementing a service training program this month with our impending renovation of the restaurant and lounge.

We do hope we see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sioux Falls
1.5 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#14 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls
Ramada Sioux Falls
#46 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn And Suites
#27 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel
Address: 3200 W Maple St, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#17 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing