We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The staff was courteous and helpful.. We had difficulty opening the door to our room and the night manager helped us out. Room was quiet, bed was comfortable. The furnishings were okay. The only negative thing was the lack of breakfast. There was complimentary fruit and coffee in the morning but you had to purchase the breakfast buffet. For the price we paid it would have been nice to be included but was not a deal breaker.. Over all we had a good experience and we would stay here again. Thanks Best Western!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank CARThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the comments, we appreciate it very much.

I do hope we see you again!

Our Best,

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    160
    126
    51
    39
See reviews for
265
75
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I booked on Priceline and was told by staff because I did that I got a room with a Murphy bed. It was like sleeping on a rollaway bed or a sleeper sofa! I could feel all the bars in the bed. But too bad cause you booked it thru priceline!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohbabyboutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, however we do not have any Murphy Beds in this hotel. Perhaps you were in a two room suite with a pull out couch, but none the less, I apologize it was an unpleasant experience.

Priceline and other online booking channels are partners with hotels, we sign up to participate or miss opportunities. We surely do not penalize our guests for their method of booking.

I hope you get a chance to visit us again so we can turn this negative into a positive, I am sure we can!

Sincerely,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

So, the hubby is a ceo cattle guy and his idea of a vacation is to show cattle and drag his 5 star wife along. I was dreading my week in Sioux Falls, SD expecting to stay at a 2 star hotel for the week. Life on the ranch, but wait!!! The hotel has suites! It has two pools! It has a free shuttle and a very nice front desk staff - ok, I'm happy again! I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay. I'm the Four Seasons, Amangani, Ritz-Carlton hotel chick who has found an oasis in Souix Falls, SD. Yes, hell has frozen over my friends. The rooms are well appointed, our suite is beyond comfortable and the free shuttle (and driver Ryan) are worth booking. This is a great place for kids, expecially when the hospitality suite (and free bar) overlook the pool where the kids can stay safely at arms (and ears) length. Thanks Best Western, you have raised your profile in my eyes. Oh, one more thing - it is very very pet friendly. Even the cowdog has slept well this week :)

Room Tip: Ask for a suite (especially if you are staying more than two nights). I love my family, but 7 days i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodRateHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
You should be an author! Thank you for the detailed experience riddled with humor, at least to me. SO glad you enjoyed the property and your week here was not torture! Ryan will be so happy you mentioned his name and that he had a positive impact on your stay as well!

I hope we see you all again.

My Best,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The room was newly renovated, the temperature was perfectly set on arrival and the quality of the internet and satellite TV was great. We had a golden retriever who was free because we're Platinum card holders. Chef Joe runs a good kitchen and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the comments, we are so glad your entire family, pooch and all, enjoyed your stay!

Hope to see you again!

Our Best,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
293 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The pool here is great. Big waterside for older kids and another side for younger kids which is great. The problems that we had with the rest of the hotel though far outweigh the nice pool. We had trouble with our room key not working 3 times during our one night stay. One time I can excuse, but 3 times?!! The front desk staff was not even apologetic at all. In fact, one front desk staff even said "well, someone must be in the room and put the deadbolt on." Well, no one was in the room because we were all locked out of it! The next morning when we checked out, the grounds crew watered the rocks (why?) outside and made the whole entryway wet without signage indicating this so of course I wiped out and scraped up my foot. Plus, having to pay for a mediocre breakfast didn't impress me. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize we didn't meet either one of our expectations! Sounds like the mechanisms in your locked needed to be changed out; I am sorry that was not done in a timely manner. I also apologize for the wet area, our sprinklers are on timers and likely a head got moved the wrong way from mowers. If you hurt yourself please give me a call so I can document for our insurance company and represent you well. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast also, this is usually a strength for us. I will share your comments with staff, and again, I apologize on all our behalf.

I do hope should you be in our area again that you'd give us another opportunity to turn this negative into a positive, I am sure we could.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Traveling back to IL from Yellowstone/Mt Rushmore and couldn't find a room anywhere using TripAdvisor. I ended up calling the 800# for Best Western and was able to get a room at a discounted rate. Many hotels in Mitchell and Sioux Falls SD were sold out so was lucky to get one and that it was decent. Bonus was the indoor water park for our boys ages 5 & 7.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
So glad we could be your Oasis of fun! I hope you enjoyed your time in our beautiful State and you'll be back again!

My Best,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here overnight to avoid the area flooding to make sure we could catch an early flight. Was pleasantly surprised they would let me park the car in their lot and avoid parking fees at airport. So far, it was great. The down side came when we returned and waited from 9 pm to 9:45 pm for their shuttle driver to come pick us up. A group of us called the front desk 5 times and each time we were told the driver was on his way. Maybe just this one driver was tacky, but this was really irritating after what could have been a pretty good rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryHull_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, and glad we were able to help during a stressful time. I do apologize for your having to wait for the bellmen. Most often, especially during busy times they are off property taking guests to the mall or dining and it takes awhile to get across town. We can often send another employee with a second van, I am sorry we didn't realize and do that for your group.

I do hope you'll be back so we can turn this negative into a positive!

My Best,

Jan Grunewaldt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#11 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
#13 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn And Suites
#26 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
Address: 3200 W Maple St, Sioux Falls, SD 57107-1302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#17 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing