We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Cordova, Tn.
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice but not GREAT”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Motel was an old Ramada Inn with indoor pool - play area and quite huge. Located not too far from the airport. My room was a double and with two beds some what crowded. Shower had very little pressure and needed extra time to rinse off. My sink was slow to drain and very little vanity room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Has a lounge and restaurant. Motel was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool side rooms - sounds float up to rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments; I do hope we have another opportunity to provide 'GREAT'. I apologize we didn't meet your expectations. We continually are updating our hotel; I believe we can turn this negative into a positive.

My best,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    187
    149
    62
    45
See reviews for
313
93
23
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here primarily for the waterpark. Unfortunately a couple of the small slides were out of order. The hot tub was not clean. Pool towels were hard to come by. We tried the outdoor pool but it was noisy and not very clean either. The air conditioning in our room did not work. Rooms appeared to be fairly updated but it is an older facility. Doubtful I would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle245248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and I apologize your experience was not reflective of our standard performance. Your comments will be shared with staff. I do hope we'll have a chance to turn this negative into a positive.

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milaca, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

So, I normally wouldn't review a hotel again, but I was reading some of the reviews that are posted and I'm so confused! We obviously like this hotel and stay here a lot and we wouldn't continue to stay here if it wasn't great. I see a lot of posts about housekeeping, and I'm super surprised. Our rooms are always well taken care of and in fact when we left our little guy's blankie there, housekeeping was kind enough to mail it to us (thank goodness!). We checked in late Friday night, and the front desk told us that our room was in a hallway that we being renovated and forewarned us that the hall may be a little dirty. We have no problem with that, but I asked them if the room spelled like paint if we could move. The front desk staff said they were full on Saturday but would do what they could if we needed to move. When we got the room, it had just been painted, and looked lovely. Paint odors don't bother me but give my husband terrible headaches, so I did ask to be moved. They were busy at the front desk but said they'd call right back. Instead of calling, they had someone come to the room we were leaving and escort us to the new room (poolside!). It was so nice to be accommodated! As always, the kids loved the waterpark, we enjoyed the location and the landscaping was gorgeous. We really got to enjoy the outdoor pool on this trip and all the new upgraded patio furniture. The waterpark was great (two small slides down, but I've seen them in use, so I'd say they deserved a rest!), and the kids loved the waterslide. We also love the weekend breakfast buffet! It was a great time! Thanks!

Room Tip: We've stayed on both floors and no rooms really seem far from the pool. Poolside was great, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you, thank you for such a detailed, nice review - you are a sweetheart! We appreciate your families business so much!

Hope to see you again soon-

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The front desk person could have been friendlier. She seemed a bit frazzled with 2 guests waiting to check in. Our room was clean and not too noisy in the hotel. Just normal noise. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the comments; I do hope we see you again!

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'll start by saying I agree with previous reviews that the front desk staff could use more customer service training. The woman (no name tag) who checked me in was having a discussion (to put in mildly) with 2 other employees (name tags so I hope they weren't guests) that the room they went to was already occupied. She argued with them that it wasn't, but they informed her there was luggage in the room. I don't know the outcome of this debate.

There's no elevator so if you're traveling with a lot of luggage, request a first floor room.

The kiddie slides were broken which was disappointing to my children at first, but they were sufficiently entertained by other toys in the waterpark. Don't forget to wear the wristbands. Apparently they have quite a few pool crashers. Security was evident in the pool area and hallways though. The holiday weekend probably contributed to that.

The room was clean when we arrived and was cleaned and towels changed the next day. The microwave and fridge are a bonus. The A/C was noisy, but it helped drown out the hallway noise late in the evening. I didn't hear anything in the hallway to keep me up at night either.

The restaurant food was good. We ate dinner there one night after a long day out and about in the city. Reasonably priced with generous portions.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room away from the pool if you have small children and/or lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the detailed comments; repairs for poor Rosco the frog and slide are schedule this month. We do have an elevator, I am so sorry we didn't get that communicated well. The front office manager will be posting your comments and addressing as well.

We hope to see you again.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is good for family with kids since they have a good size of indoor swimming pool and hot tub. Everything is old but still in a good condition. The location is so convenient. It is right off the interstate. It is only 7 mins away from downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyatisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the great comments, I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. We have an awesome downtown if you didn't get a chance to experience that and our complimentary shuttle happily transport, lots of quaint, couple spots down there. Ask for a map and visitor guide from the desk too.

Thank you again,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was clean, comfortable and overall, very nice! Room service was affordable and excellent (had a great steak dinner!) Water park was a bonus! Everyone played hard and then could sleep well! "A" rating!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments; so glad you enjoyed your visit with us!

We hope to see you again soon!

Take care,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#37 of 53 in Sioux Falls
40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Empire Towers
Best Western Empire Towers
#9 of 53 in Sioux Falls
424 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel
Address: 3200 W Maple St, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#17 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing