We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with siblings”

Phillips Avenue Diner
Ranked #4 of 394 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sagamihara, Japan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lunch with siblings”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good food. Not overly processed. Nothing fancy. Good service. Retro decor makes it a must go for a burger if you are in downtown Sioux Falls.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    185
    57
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not the best I have ever had”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Roasted chicken was dry and like rubber my over easy eggs were over hard. The chocolate shake was thick and yummy. Clean and friendly and seems to be a local favorite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food. Great Shakes.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food at this place was actually quite incredible. I got a turkey sandwich that was smothered with gravy and it was just fantastic! All three of my friends that went with me loved their meals, too. It is definitely worth it to come for dinner, but if you aren't feeling like an entire meal, the shakes were probably the best part anyway. The specialty shakes cost a little bit more, but they are more than worth the extra money spent. An added bonus to this diner is that it is located on the street that has the vast majority of the sculptures in town, which are changed every year. We quite enjoyed strolling up and down the street and seeing the sculptures before dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferrisbueller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Best Breakfast”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We loved breakfast at the diner. They have great coffee and home-made goodies from the front case. mmmmmmmm

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlueStarSiouxFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
189 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Diner in the Heart of Sioux Falls”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The half Bacon Benny was beyond my expectations for diner fare. The prices were a bit steep for breakfast however the location along a historic Sioux Falls stretch of road was perfect. The sculptures outside of Phillips Ave. Diner are truly sights to see. The service was OK. The food and coffee were excellent which is what the diner is known for. I highly recommend stopping here for a bite to eat. The portions were just right. The hash browns were buttery and crispy perfection. The orange juice is fresh squeezed. More B & B than diner grub. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyincharlietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips Avenue Diner also viewed

Sioux Falls, SD
Sioux Falls, SD
 

Been to Phillips Avenue Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing