We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exactly What We Wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Schofield
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Exactly What We Wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have stayed MANY different places in Sioux Falls for the Christmas holiday over the last 30 years. Basically all we do is sleep in our hotel since we spend most of our time with family in town. We had gotten tired of spending well over $100 a night for a room we just slept in. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and decided we would try the Brimark in for the 4 nights we were in Sioux Falls this year over Christmas. The rate was great, the staff very friendly, the rooms clean, the wi-fi reliable, the breakfast just enough and the location was great. The newly remodeled rooms were nice and the breakfast room was very cool. My only complaint was that our room was not cleaned one of the days we were there, but the front desk staff adjusted our bill with no hassle at all. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide you a great nights lodging with all the amenities ,at a fraction of the cost . I must address the fact your room was not cleaned one day . I am sorry it wasn't mentioned to you upon check in. Our housekeepers all have families and Christmas is the only holiday we try very hard to give them the whole day off. We usually only have a few rooms occupied over Christmas so we try to notify everyone that the front desk has everything they may need but we will not be cleaning their rooms that day. I am sorry this inconvenienced you. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    165
    55
    17
    11
See reviews for
210
131
32
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

From other reviews I expected the Brimark to be clean and friendly and I wasn't disappointed. What I didn't expect was the modern, designer look of my room. From the oversized leather chair to the stylish bathroom features to the wall colors and decorations, I felt like I was in a upscale 4-5 star hotel in a major urban center.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yakatack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
WOW, thank you for such a great review. 5 stars is our goal so whenever we get it the whole staff is thrilled. It makes us very proud to be able to give you the kind of room and service that exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing us, it was our pleasure to serve you. Donna Gratzfeld ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

this hotel was very nice. friendly staff. clean quiet large rooms. right off of I-29. waffles, biscuits & gravy, cereal, toast, fruit for breakfast. great price. they are under construction, which didnt interupt our stay and the pillows are very small. we asked for an extra pillow and got it right away. would stay there again when in sioux falls, sd

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WyomingBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to have been of service to you. we will be looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for staying with us. Donna Gratzfeld, Genera lManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
234 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Brimark on our way back across the continent. It was a great night's rest after a long drive. The staff was super helpful and very friendly! I would stay again if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDWNG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your great review. 5 stars makes us very happy. We are glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and a good value. Happy travels, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
210 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is an independent hotel and shows they try hard and succeed. This is done right. It's comfortable from check-in to check-out. Very reasonable rates, about the nicest done place, tasteful then I've seen independent or chain. Decor is classic, neutral and still pretty unique bathroom. The room drapes and full and darkening. Had 'fridge with freezer; no microwave, but use the breakfast room one anytime. They are working on outside landscaping, but it's not in the way. Another thing, really easy door keycard and the breakfast standard fare. The peephole is tall for me and maids came knocking for service. I needed a health clinic and staff helped me find one and gave aide. I felt the most welcomed here then any on my 6 week trip.

Room Tip: It's kind of a U-shaped facility, you can be in the section nearest lobby and breakfast room, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and writing such a nice review. You will be glad to know that we have completed putting microwaves in every room as well as new single cup coffee makers .We are constantly striving to bring you the best in all amenities. We have now started construction on our new indoor pool and waterslide, this will enclose the u you mentioned and will contain our new elevator. Wishing you a Happy New Year , Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in the Brimark on the way to the Black Hills and could not have found a better stop. The rooms we great, clean and newly remodelled. The facilities provided for our needs perfectly. Finally, the friendly staff added the cherry to the top of our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_J_Mills_9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so appreciated that you would take the time. Our entire staff reads our reviews and they are so proud when they are mentioned. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Level Contributor
423 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our last hotel for this trip and it was pretty near perfect. A king-sized bed in a nice big room, 4 fluffy pillows, everything else you could wish for, a small but updated bathroom with a wonderful handmade soap holder on the wall. Free WiFi. Decent breakfast in the NICEST breakfast room I have ever been in and I have been in quite a few; the design and old country decor were lovely. If I could have stolen the old fridge and stove I would have! They were gorgeous. Lovely friendly staff, even the other guests were friendly. ANd the price was unbelievable. Our sole teeny, tiny complaint was that we couldn't seem to get to breakfast without going outside. Would recommend it to anyone and next time we are in SD, we know where to stay. They are even pet-friendly. :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. Glad we could provide you with a comfortable stay. The breakfast room is a favorite with many of our guests. it reminds one of a simpler time. Please keep coming back and watch the progress on the new waterplayland . Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
#20 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
#12 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
3.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#5 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Property: Dakotah Lodge
Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing