We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Haters will hate; but this place is just fine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Haters will hate; but this place is just fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Attended a conference at the hotel across the street and chose to stay at the Brimark Inn instead as it's smaller and would be quieter. Given the location, size, and price of this hotel, it is obviously in the budget category. For those looking for a luxury, chain, or (possibly) business hotel, of course they'll find things to hate. However, if you set your expectations in the context of what type of hotel this is, you'll find it is a fine place to stay for a few nights. My room was very recently renovated . . . new furniture, new carpet, the bedding looked new too. Bathroom, albeit tiny, was also recently renovated: new grouting/caulk in the bath, not a spec of mold to be seen. Front desk staff was always friendly and aware of people coming and going. Breakfast was typical prepackaged continental fare but at this price (free) what do you expect? Biggest gripe was housecleaning . . . my room was tidied, towels replaced, but it was obvious that the bath had not been cleaned (my hair was still in the tub). The bath was clean when I first checked in; so, I suppose I am OK with the cleaning being a bit lax for my two-day stay. At the time of my visit, they were renovating the outside patio space. No restaurant or room service (thus the one star)

Room Tip: first floor. second floor rooms may be hot (there are AC window units in the hallway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Getting input from our guests is very important to us. Our head housekeeper read this review and had a talk with her staff about our policies on cleaning stay over rooms. Again thank you for letting us know about this. Your remark about upstairs air conditioning has me puzzled though. There are air conditioners in the hallways as well as in the rooms therefore the rooms should be just as cool upstairs as down. Donna Gratzfeld ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    184
    64
    27
    11
See reviews for
244
146
39
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here for a few days and it was wonderful. The girls at the front desk went way above and beyond what I would have expected. It was clean and quiet. The continental breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I would stay here again absolutely. I was so impressed by those girls at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoshoes91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. Our front desk staff will enjoy reading it. Our front desk staff all log in and read the reviews. Hope you will be back again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived late in the day and were quite happy with this motel. The room looked as if it had recently had a face lift...it was clean and very comfortable. We were there for one night. The staff was friendly. They served breakfast in the morning. This is a very nice clean motel reasonably priced at $69.95 for two people. I would stay here again and would recommend it to others who are heading out west. Also we wanted to spend a little time seeing Sioux Falls and this motel was not far from them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We take our reviews very much to heart, both the good as well as the bad. We have been working on this property for a little more than 1 year and made a lot of improvements and are aware we have many more to make. There are so many choices out there and we feel honored that you selected us and had an enjoyable stay. Please come back again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Like another reviewer, the key card / locks did not work. I had to walk downstairs to ask for help. She tried a few things until she found out it only opened by swinging the level up and not down. Whatever. Bed was nice. Room was nice overall. Bathroom had some mold and it was quite outdated. Breakfast was average to good; the lady attendant was the highlight. Very nice lady. Would stay here again if the price was right. Also, lots of renovations going on, so it is dusty and some noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andre2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
No, we are certainly not there yet . We are very aware of our failings and not ignoring them at all. The locks have been a real problem. As you can imagine we have a huge investment in this new electronic lock system for our 106 rooms as well as entrances etc. Unfortunately we decided to go the extra mile and invested in the "new state of the art design" Well, someone should have worked the kinks out BEFORE they sold them to us. The clutches are going out on the average of 3 or 4 a week. I realize this is probably just an excuse to you but believe me it is a real problem for us and we are diligently working to resolve this problem. We really care about our guests and do not want to inconvenience them in any way. I just want to apologize for your issues and hope you will try us again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We came in late (10 pm). The key cards would not open the room door. The on-duty desk person came to room and also could not get the door open. She commented "They have to do something about these locks." After several minutes of effort she finally got the door open. As we didn't plan to go out anymore we accepted the room. I did go out to get my cell from the car. I couldn't get the key card to work. My friend let me into the room. In the morning we decided to pack up and load the car before going to breakfast to avoid waiting for staff to get us back into the room. The room was hot. The cool/heat doesn't seem to be working in the room. Noise, but no air coming from the vent. Looks like an old system based on look of wall control. There is a fair amount of mold in the tub in the grout between tiles and around wall soap dish. They are doing a major landscape project. They need to spend the money on Room 153 instead. On plus side bed was comfortable and internet was fast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I am just mortified that you were put in that room. There is no excuse I just want to let you know what happened. Several rooms in that wing were slated to be completely gutted right down to the metal studs, because of problems as you have listed . Somehow, they got put back from, out of order to rentable and the front desk wasn't aware of the issues. It was a very unfortunate situation that we certainly wish hadn't happened. I want to assure you that is NOT how our rooms are normally. We are working very hard to redo all these rooms, much more than just a little paint. we are putting in new sheetrock, tile, new plumbing whatever it takes. As a guest just said we still have a ways to go on part of the building. As you can see by most of our reviews we are constantly striving to provide an enjoyable stay at a reasonable price. Please accept our apologies .Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Brimark Inn due to comments from tripadvisor, arriving 9/17th .... and we were very happy with this establishment......they have been remodeling for awhile and it really is paying off. Our room on the 1st floor looked all brand new. Our king size bed was very comfortable and the rooms décor was very pleasant all around -- also the hallway and the nice lounge area were tastefully and attractively done. And they have by far and away, the cutest and most attractive eating area that we have seen in awhile --- the farm motif is really well done to the smallest detail. The price was very good and without question, we'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is very rewarding to hear you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you back again soon. Donna Gratzfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The title says it all! This is a great place to stay and it is very reasonably priced. The room we had was ample with a very comfortable bed and a great TV. The staff was very nice and helpful with instructions on how to get around the city. We have been traveling for a few days and it was a great plus to have a laundry room (75 cents a load) available. It appears the hotel has been undergoing updating and some work is still being done in the courtyard but this does not deter from the great place it is.

Room Tip: Room at the end of the hall closed to the back entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IEB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put in such a nice review. We are a work in progress.. The good news is we are making progress. The courtyard will be finished by October 1st. The new addition footings will be going in after that. Please come and see us again and see the changes. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
#23 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#8 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Property: Dakotah Lodge
Address: 3200 W Russell St, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107-0712 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing