We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Montana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

You won't find a better combination of value, cleanliness, friendly service and good breakfast.

This was a real find. We did some quick looking on the phone on our way home from Iowa and found some promising reviews for the Brimark. We were not disappointed. Thank you fellow TA reviewers!

Front desk staff very nice and helpful. It's obvious the staff care about presenting the property well.

The room was clean, and included a refrigerator and nice TV. Bathroom was small but nice. I only have two minor complaints on the room - 1. dim lighting and 2. I found 2 empty drink bottles under the bed. The empty bottles tell me they aren't checking everything over when cleaning the room.

Pool was very large and nice. Only complaint here was the extreme heat of the water. This is summertime; there is no need to heat the pool! My wife felt it and refused to get in. I swam for a few minutes and got too hot so climbed out.

Breakfast was excellent compared to other 'free' buffets. The staff running the buffet were very friendly and service-oriented.

Plenty of well-lit parking.

At the end of the stay, I thought I had received excellent value for what I paid.

This is definitely where I will stay on any future trips through Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaMike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are doing some really big renovations now that the summer season has ended. The pool is no longer here. We have removed it and made a beautiful courtyard where it was. We will soon break ground for the new addition which will house our new indoor pool, spa, children's spray area and large waterslide . We are all very excited and hope you will come back and see all the changes spring 2014. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    165
    55
    17
    11
See reviews for
210
131
32
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed August 11th on the way to yellowstone. Friendly front desk staff, clean rooms. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure was average. The air conditioner was so loud it woke me and my 9 year old up every time it kicked in. There is no elevator so we had to lug our suitcases up the steps. The pool was great and they furnished some noodles which my kids loved. The location is a bit sketchy. There is an abandoned lot next store that something needs to be done with. Breakfast was great...when we finally got to eat. We waited in line for 10 minutes and then kitchen worker Sharon told me and my 9 year old we had to get shoes on. There is no signage and we have never had a problem wearing socks when eating breakfast at other hotels. I tried to explain to Sharon that my 4 year old and husband were still asleep and we didn't want to wake them by going into the room but she ignored me and walked away. Kitchen staff was catering to a large bus of elderly tourists so clearly they were the priority over families with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melandtimg0eck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please come back and try us again. We are still renovating and you will be happy to hear we are putting in an elevator. We also are adding an addition with an indoor pool, spa, small children's play area and a large waterslide.. We have a new courtyard with a grill area for our guests, It is very family friendly. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First night out on a 10 day western trip. Arrived late and check in was fast and simple. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Nice TV and the bathroom was clean. Great room for the money. Easy access off the interstate.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is very rewarding to know we provided you with the kind of stay that made your trip enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very happy with how nicely updated this hotel is. It was very clean and friendly. The breakfast was great, with a lot of selections, from waffles, to biscuits and gravy. Parking was very convenient. We were very happy and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_K3652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, Front Office Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your business! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were pleasantly suprised with this little find. A great price for a great room. Very clean & comfortable beds. Front desk was very nice & accomodating. The breakfast was decent. Dont be turned away by the outside as all the rooms are all refurnished! Very nice! Would stay there again if passing through!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us. The exterior will be upgraded this winter, hopefully the next time you come through you won't recognize us. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

At times we are leery to stay at off name hotels because so often it is merely a dilapidated hotel with a thin coat of fresh paint. As we first arrived we were in for a pleasant surprise.

While it is a far from a new hotel, it has been well updated, clean and appears to have had a decorators touch. We stayed on two separate occasions and were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful front desk staff. Kudos to the recommended pizza joint.

Breakfast was good but somewhat limited selection.

My only complaint is that the rooms were dark. They need to put higher wattage bulbs in the dark lamp shades.

We will most diffidently stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I agree with you on the lamp shapes being dark and darkening the room we are working on a solution. We are so please all else at the hotel meet or exceeded your expectations. Best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Folks, don't let the outside fool you. This is NOT a "drive by and go to a chain hotel" moment. This entire property has been upgraded...the only thing not new in my room was the tub and the phone. EVERYTHING else was new! I've stayed in Hiltons that weren't as nice. It is very obvious the owners take a lot of pride in customer service and this carries over to their employees. Quiet, clean, great breakfast...and at a great price. They have an outside pool which is kept very warm and clean...it's one if the few nice deep pools left. Great stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadinGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is comments like yours that we strive for and really why we are in business. I am sorry to say we have closed the outdoor pool but am happy to announce we are building a new indoor one.. Happy future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
#20 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
#12 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
3.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#5 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Property: Dakotah Lodge
Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing