We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel has been renovated nicely. The hotel is very clean and affordable offering very soft new beds, new flat panel TV's, nicely designed modern furniture, etc. Free breakfast was continental with the addition of eggs and biscuits and gravy. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for a VERY AFFORDABLE and nice place to stay to get a good nights rest in Sioux Falls this is the place for you. Easy to find right off US 29 by the airport, yet rooms were very quiet.

The positive reviews here are true. It is why I stayed there and will be back.

Kevin

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krurik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
What a delight to get such a nice review. What we strive to do is remember that we are in the HOSPITALITY business. We really do appeciate you. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    165
    55
    17
    11
See reviews for
209
131
32
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Algona, Iowa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Upon entering the lobby we were greeted with a big smile from the gal at the front desk. Check-in was very efficient. Our room was located on the 2nd floor directly across from the stairway. There was never a problem with noise. This hotel has been recently remodeled and it shows. It is very tastefully done. Although the room and bathroom are somewhat smaller than in a lot of hotels, it was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very small, but there was shelves above the toilet to make up for lack of counter space. The shower had tiles, so much nicer than the one-piece units you see most places. The gal that serviced our room was friendly and efficient.

The breakfast room was delightful. It was decorated as a farm kitchen, light colors and very cheerful surroundings. Our first morning Pam was working in the kitchen, there was a gentleman that was overstaying his time visiting with Pam as she was trying to work, to the point that my husband and I were trying to figure out a way to help her encourage him to leave. He did leave before we were done with breakfast. The entire time Pam was cordial and polite to him and still managed to keep up with everything. He did leave before we were finished with our breakfast. I was very impressed with how Pam handled the situation. Our second day, we came down just as they were closing the breakfast area (our mistake). Sharon was so nice in making sure we got what we needed to eat even though it was our fault for coming down late.

This hotel is very convenient to the interstate and only around 4 miles to the mall. Great value for the money! It is place that we would most definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our wonderful staff that makes us stand out. The people in what is called the back of the house are sometimes not recognised for all they do to make us sucessful. Our goal is to provide you with a pleasant and comfortable experience. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was greatly impressed with the new ownership and their attention to improvements. Walking in felt like a hug from Grandma! Their decor is beautiful, the beds are incredibly comfortable. And everything is exceptionally clean, going beyond expectations. The breakfast area is so charming. The variety offered meets any dietary needs; proteins, fresh fruits, dairy, carbohydrates, and even pastries. Customer service is outstanding. Not only are you welcomed with a hug but a warm hello!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to be able to provide you with the kind of room and breakfast you enjoy. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I booked this room based on Trip Advisor reviews. The price was so low we thought there must be a catch. There wasn't! It was bright and clean and we could tell it had been recently remodeled. The entrance doors to each room were heavy and felt secure. The location was close to the interstate but surrounded by an industrial area. This was a drawback. We would stay here again but would choose to park in the brightly lit front lot rather than the side or back lots.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Isn't it great when something that looks to good to be true turns out well? Glad we made your stay a special one.Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel shows how successful a thoughtful renovation can be. The room was slightly smaller than what's found in the newer motels but it was beautifully furnished with a leather easy chair w/ottoman, stylish lamps and furniture, and a large flat screen tv - not one of the little computer monitors we've found at other places. The breakfast was very nice - lots of fresh options served in a cleverly designed breakfast room. The fitness center had high quality equipment. We would definitely stay here again - and for the price, it was a real bargain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pilotman1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so glad we were able to make your stay a memorable one. It is very satisfying to know our efforts are appreciated. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I joined trip advisor so that I could write this review, which should give you an indication of how pleased we were with the Brimark Inn.
We have been in the USA for a month now, staying in a wide variety of locations and accomodation, and Brimark Inn are easily the best value we have had the pleasure to find. Everything was done right, from the excellent service all round to the nicely remodeled spotless rooms and a generous breakfast.
Very impressed, Brimark Inn, thank-you for a great stay. And quiet too. The proximity to the interstate was an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
What a pleasure to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. It is nice to know that people do notice the effort we put in to provide you with a lovely clean, comfortable room.The quiet you mention is because the building is all concrete so you don't hear people walking over your head or next room noise. May all your future travels go as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was a really nice hotel and a great value. Everything we saw looked clean and fresh. The room was nice and big and the beds were really comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and since we got in really late it was great that it was still available at 9:30.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is very satisfying to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay.We promise to keep making it even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
#20 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
#12 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
3.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#5 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Property: Dakotah Lodge
Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing