We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Looks are deceiving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Plainfield, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were really worried when we arrived here- the exterior is seriously dated, there are window air conditioner units in the hallways- the wallpaper is held up with tape- but once we got in our room, we were pleasantly surprised. The mattress is new and firm, the room is very clean- cleaner than some of the larger chain hotels we've stayed at. The people who work here are very nice. The breakfast is somewhat lacking- mainly bread items and coffee. We are laughing at the shoddy appearance of this hotel, but honestly we would stay here again. The price was certainly a bargain, and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChuckandAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    170
    59
    18
    11
See reviews for
222
135
33
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huron, South Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is nothing fancy, but it certainly met our needs. The room was very clean, and there is a basic breakfast included (donuts, cereal, etc). Overall, a very good value.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank myzrx1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milbank, South Dakota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Brimark Inn can't be beat when needing a place to stay before or after flying in or out of Sioux Falls. The rooms dbl / single with breakfast are in the $60 dollar range. This price includes transport to and from the airport (just 5 minutes away) as well as keeping your vehicle while you are gone. It's clean, quiet, convenient and at a great price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I lived in Sioux Falls for about 7 years, and I can tell you that the hotels here are generally very overpriced.

Back then, if you would have asked my opinion of the "Brimark Inn", I would said "Oh, it's one of those old, dirty hotels along Russell".

I recently moved out of the area, and decided to stay here for a quick overnight on my Christmas trip to see the family, based on TripAdvisor reviews.

My comments about this place have definitely changed... Wow, was I wrong!

Knowing some of the hotels in this general area on Russell, I was worried... but... it turned out to be very nice, and the Trip Advisor reviews were spot-on.

It's a bit dated, yes, but I received a great room. Microwave (without those stupid knobs!), mini fridge, coffee maker, 2 tables, 3 chairs, a couch, free Wi-Fi, and continental breakfast. The bed was comfy, and the pillows were something I'd find in a $100+ hotel room (Unsure of the review on the flat pillows... They must have changed them... Mine were great!). And above all, it was amazingly clean. The only thing I could find was a very small amount of dust along the top of a picture frame. The cleanliness really shows here.

The staff (I'm sure it's a family-run place) is so friendly, as well.

It does use an actual metal key for the door, it has a 20-ish inch CRT TV, and the lighting was a bit weak... but all in all, I am very satisfied. I know how much hotels run in this town, and how crappy some of them can be. This one is a winner. If you need a no-frills, inexpensive, "just need a comfy bed/clean" type of stay, this is it. I'll definitely be staying here again.

On a side note: It's a bit hard to get to, if you're not familiar with this area... There's some frontage roads that can confuse GPS's. If you're going east on Russell from I-29, turn left at the first stop light after the ramps... It's for Louise/Westport.... Then take the first left.. it'll be right after you make the left turn (On Google Maps, it says Jenifer Place)... You'll come right to it, on the right side of the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollysBestFriend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this room last minute on Hotwire for $44...$56 with taxes and fess. I can't believe how clean it was! The staff was very nice, and the continental breakfast was fresh and nicely presented. The rooms are "vintage" 1970s, but well maintained and did I mention clean? It was quiet and convenient for us as we were just needing a place to sleep and shower. I would stay again for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollysBestFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Got a good price and it was convenient. Probably one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at. The staff is nice and good at what they do. But, this hotel has not been updated since like 1970 and it really holds it back. Real room keys, flat pillows, really old floral print comforters, no complimentary liquid soaps, breakfast consists of cold cereal, toast, and juice, broken hot tub, outdoor pool (it was only high 60's that weekend).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guido0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Based on the other reviews, I chanced the Brimark, needing a hotel near the airport. I wasn't disappointed. Rooms were clean and quiet (I could hear the people in the room next door when I was in the hall, but not when I was in my room). People very friendly. Free wi-fi for my iPad. My room had a refrigerator in it, very important for some medicine I was carrying. On my return trip I stayed at the Brimark again, but this time there was no refrigerator. I asked about it and was told "we'll see what we can do." Ten minutes later there was a knock at my door, and in comes a woman wheeling a small refrigerator! It doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
#20 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
3.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#7 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Property: Dakotah Lodge
Address: 3200 W Russell St, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107-0712 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing