We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
South Dakota
Level Contributor
191 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“New and Nice”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This review is for the Fairfield by the airport (there are two in town).

Pros: Property is brand-spanking new, so everything is in excellent condition with hip, modern, decor. The rooms and common areas were immaculate. The bathrooms are nice and large. The front desk staff was tops and went above and beyond with requests to change floors, provide driving directions and to store items. Price was very reasonable. The maid greeted me in the hallway. The pool guy and breakfast attendant also greeted us. Clearly, the staff has been trained in hospitality. The bathroom fan did not sound like a helicopter, as in many hotels. Great location for anyone using the airport or the sports complex. Close proximity to I-29. Although it is near the airport, I only heard one plane, so outside soundproofing is well done. We had to leave early in the morning and breakfast was served earlier than the stated time, which was a bonus. While the isolated location is somewhat of a con, the upside of that is that you are not in a bad neighborhood or on a noisy road.

Cons: The pool is way too small. It is about the size of two hot tubs put together. I would say if more than six kids used the pool, it would be too crowded. There is not much around the hotel, as far as restaurants go. There is one next door, and that is it. This may improve as the area develops. INSIDE soundproofing between rooms was not good. From 1:30-2:30AM the woman next to us engaged in a very loud phone conversation. It woke me up. During this conversation, she also chose to sing. I pounded on the wall. She pounded back. I then knocked on her door and politely explained we had to get up early. She apologized and toned it down, but I could still hear her. As another reviewer mentioned, there are no suitcase racks.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomMobile5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
48
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Standish, Maine
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stay in a lot of the Fairfield hotels, and many of the competitions similar offerings. This place is brand new, it opened just a couple of months ago. The rooms are simple but stylish. I stayed in a single king room, and it features a full walk in shower VS the more common tub/shower combination. Where the room is small, it in every way seems big enough. The decor is very nice and bright. I really appreciate that there are power outlets EVERYWHERE. Six withing arms reach here at the desk, two on each side of the bed, My biggest complaint with older properties is having to search for a place to plug in my laptop and cell phone. And like most biz travelers, I like to have my cell phone by my side at the bed. Down in the breakfast area there are nice touches like a combination of tables, dining bar, and restaurant type booths - and power outlets all over the place so you can plug in that laptop for a last minute review of the presentation,

The one thing I need to warn folks about is that as this property is very new, so is the street it is located on. It does not yet show up on any maps or even my just updated Tom Tom GPS. As a result you will want to print out the map to find it from the hotel website.

Room Tip: The location is very quiet, so I suspect there are few if any bright or noisy rooms at night. The a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
211 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was absolutely delighted to receive an email from the hotel about two days before I checked in. It welcomed me an explained that the roads around the Sioux Falls Airport (FSD) are all new and so my GPS wouldn't be able to find it. It gave me great directions from all areas (including the airport) and was quite easy to find. The décor is modern and similar to most Fairfield Inns. It's very nice looking.

The only very minor drawbacks were that the WIFI signal was a little weak on the 4th floor (I was down at the end because I'd requested a room away from the elevator) and the breakfast was put away before I got downstairs in the morning. I thought they had said breakfast was from 6-10 and, since my flight didn't leave until after 1, I worked in my room until about 9 and moseyed down for breakfast. It was almost all put away. When I asked, the person who was cleaning the breakfast area asked what I needed and promptly got me the yogurt I requested. The coffee was still hot and the breakfast area was clean and pleasant. I'd definitely stay here again and simply ask for a room with a better WIFI connection. I'm usually the person haunting a breakfast area before it opens, so I doubt I'll ever again encounter an issue with a breakfast being put away before I get there. I bet it's the first time I waited past 7AM to get breakfast in the last 30 years of travel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I booked this hotel since I knew it was brand new. It is a very nice hotel and the staff were all great. I normally book a king bed, but needed 2 queens this time as it was a family trip. I also added a rollaway bed since the kids don't like to share a bed any more. The room was on the small side. There really is no space in the room for a rollaway bed, so be prepared for a tight squeeze once the bed is set up. It was fine for a one night stay. The bathroom was large and bright. The AC/Heat unit was fantastic and you can choose to leave the fan run constantly or have it turn on/off automatically. The location is pretty isolated as it's a new area and there is a lot of open space yet to be developed. Close to the airport, and there was some jet noise although that never bothers me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTfromSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Previously I had stayed at the one by the Empire Mall and they certainly were good and had the same decor after the renovation that is now part of the brand. But as a new build hotel, this takes it one step even more upscale and modern with more spacious rooms, breakfast area, and amenities.

Though only open just over a month, the staff were great and friendly, things functioning well and in order--overall a good experience with a little bit of the "new" smell still present, especially in the elevator, although I am not sure that it was a good thing!

A few minor nits to pick, and this is more about how Marriott theoretically does all of its concept and room "testing" -- but the supposed closet was ridiculously small and useless. I just can't understand how they think something that is barely 1.5 feet wide is even usable and practical. With the ironing board and iron in it, and 6 hangers, there is no way to even get your hands in there to try put anything in!! And related to that, there is a flat space beside it facing you with a chrome peg to hang things, perhaps like a coat or suit, but you can't use the hangers from the mini closet because the loop is the small type (so we presumably won't steal them and take them home!) It doesn't fit on the thicker chrome peg so unless you have dry cleaner hangars or something, the peg is useless to hang things.

The other minor annoyance is there is no foldaway suitcase stand. For one thing the closet is too small to store it, but I just used the round rolling stool to set the suitcase on. That seems like a pretty major oversight that there is no place to store your suitcase, except flat on the floor I suppose.

For the rest the bedding is comfortable, lighting and plugs adequate, bathroom is roomy and well laid out, although it would have been nicer to have the towel rack closer to the bathtub/shower instead of over the toilet on the opposite wall. You have a LOONNG reach to get one. A simple hook or two by the wall beside the back of the tub would be useful.

Right now there is hardly anything nearby and as far as location it leaves a lot to be desired, but it was convenient to our work at University Center and is very close to the airport. Getting to downtown is not difficult either. There certainly is new competition in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-here-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I cannot believe this is a Fairfield!! Absoluetly a gorgeous hotel with very modern decor! Brand new hotel with some of the best customer service I have encountered without any doubt (and I have been traveling and part of the Marriott rewards for 19 years). I love the desks in the room. I will be staying here from now on and recommend this hotel to everyone I know!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is easily the nicest Fairfield Inn that I've stayed in and I've been to a lot of them. This is the newer upscale style Fairfield that has a modern look and better quality rooms. It makes you feel like your in a higher end hotel for a great price. The staff was very pleasant and helpful throughout the stay.

And the hotel was brand new.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#14 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
3.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn And Suites
#27 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
Address: 4035 N Bobhalla Dr, Sioux Falls, SD 57107-6414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport Hotel is conveniently located off I-29 exit 82 near the Sioux Falls Airport. Nearby restaurants, the Empire Mall, and Falls Park will ensure there is something for the whole family. We offer free WiFi, a complimentary breakfast, on-site fitness center, and an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing