We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice municipal course” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elmwood Golf Course

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Elmwood Golf Course
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice municipal course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Currently undergoing some physical changes due to neighboring airport requirements for runway lengths, Elmwood is the oldest Sioux Falls municipal course. It has changed over the years as huge elms have been taken down from damage or old age, but it remains a good test of golf skills with a nice array of par 3's, 4',s and 5's. Some water, but not much, there are strategic traps on most holes and still plenty of namesake trees that can interfere with good scores. A decent value, Elmwood remains a good golf course.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianK609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent customer service and greens”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A bit pricey from what I am used to. I was rushed throughout my game by the rude customers behind me. Customer service was pretty friendly. Calling ahead for a tee time is essential and easily done by helpful staff. Greens are probably average for a public course. Difficulty is probably below average for course layout. Overall would consider returning if not a weekend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I play there every Monday during the summer. Its an average course with some challenging fairway shots. There is an occasional jet flying low overhead since its right next to the SF airport but its really no bother. Well groomed and good management staff. The clubhouse is average with plenty of tables and chairs for leagues.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrangerDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Played the "3rd" 9”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not sure what it is called but we played the 3rd 9, no tee times accpeted. Played on Sat am at about 8 so it was very busy but we played in just over 2 hours. We were worried it would be slow and in poor shape but not the case at all. We had a great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mayzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Plenty of options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Elmwood is nice, because they have three courses. If you don't want a tee time or have some inexperienced golfers, play the east and don't feel rushed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank W0rldTravelPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmwood Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Elmwood Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing