We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Outdoor Campus

The Outdoor Campus
Sertoma Park, 4500 S Oxbow Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-4114
605-362-2777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 45 things to do in Sioux Falls
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature museum, aquarium, butterfly garden and classes for everyone to learn about the outdoors.
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The butterfly house is located on the campus. Check out the website for the many classes offered for children. It is a beautiful setting for pictures. Sertoma Park is here also with a large picnic area. There is a lake, all kinds of wildlife can be found at different time of the day. It is a tranquil setting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dakotagirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Carlyle, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a nice stop to stretch & get some exercise. The gardens were nice. We took the long walk around the area, there is a nice wooden bridge over the pond that leads to a relaxing walk by the prairie grass. The visitor's center has a small aquarium & small walk through display of local wildlife.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lot of fun, even for big "kids"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our family stopped here for a stretch break on our way to the Black Hills, and had a lot of fun! The girls (both in their 20s) had more fun than the little kids in the play area, playing inside the giant fish, taking a roll at "Snakes and Ladders" (life-size chutes and ladders), exploring the gardens and outdoor play area, and seeing some fun wildlife. It was great fun and free, just wish it wasn't so far off the interstate. We were disappointed to find out that the butterfly exhibit was separate and costs to get in, despite it being advertised on the brochure as part of Outdoor Campus. Next time we'll have to do more there!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lilkelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
407 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Wish we had one in Fargo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Outdoor Campus is a great place to get active. My wife and I saw a brochure in a travel stop and with the admission price of free, we thought, why not. There was a motorcycle rally of sorts going on the day we visited, but the majority of them were crowding the parking lot and lobby, so the actual trails were pretty clear. Many of the trails are not marked, making it harder to know where you are, but I liked it. The entire space was inviting and calming. I loved it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JesseWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, free, family time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Outdoor Campus is a great place to take the kids when you need a change of scenery. The indoor activities are fun and the kids love just taking their time exploring outside. We've done classes through the Outdoor Campus as well and always enjoy ourselves. The staff is amazing and helpful. You really can't go wrong with a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Outdoor Campus also viewed

 

Been to The Outdoor Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing