We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wild life in the city”
Review of The Outdoor Campus

The Outdoor Campus
Ranked #14 of 63 things to do in Sioux Falls
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature museum, aquarium, butterfly garden and classes for everyone to learn about the outdoors.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wild life in the city”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

With not much wild life to view in the city it was nice to have something outdoors to do. Lots of fun stuff for kids to do

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trailsend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for birding!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I love this spot for birding and walking. Would like to see the trails ok'd for bikes, but runners are welcome and it's a lovely spot to exercise, relax, and experience a little bit of nature right in town. The forest/river/prairie selection is a great attractant for seasonal birds.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souix Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful animals”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

here you can see all sorts of animals including but not limited to: deer, skunk, ducks, geese these animals are use to humans and are most likely to walk right by you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chitown S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kids pick”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have not personally had the chance to visit the outdoor campus, but my kids have all attended field trips here and had a blast. My youngest even had education classes from the outdoor campus while in the hospital this spring, and wants to have her birthday party here next month. The teachers and volunteers are awesome, and you can't beat the price!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dakotamomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great place for a nature walk and to learn about wildlife”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Outdoor Campus is a great place to visit or attend their free classes. My daughter loves it so much she asked to go there for her 4th birthday! They have a huge fish you can walk through and see what the inside of a fish looks like, a little camping area set up (inside) for kids to play in. My daughter loves to sit in the canoe (on the ground) and pretend to fish with their rods, stuffed fish, and life jackets. They also have aquariums with live fish, frogs, snakes, salamanders, etc. Outside they have some areas for children to play, walking trails, garden that attracts butterflies, pond, and a lot of bird feeders. It is a great place to get your children and/or family outside to enjoy nature! We visit at least once a month! Best of all it is FREE!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Outdoor Campus also viewed

 

Been to The Outdoor Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing