We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Run of the mill history museum” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pettigrew Home & Museum

Pettigrew Home & Museum
Ranked #11 of 60 things to do in Sioux Falls
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored 1889 Queen Anne style home of South Dakota's first senator, R.F. Pettigrew.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Run of the mill history museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I would like to clarify that we didn't stay long enough for the tour.

The house itself is nice, but honestly isn't even the best sight in the historic district. Basically, this is a good stop for a history of Sioux Falls, but unless that tiny grain of world history is going to rivet you, you'd be better off spending your time somewhere else. It is nice that it's free and near St. Joe's, but it doesn't offer the same experience as the Pavilion or the Outdoor Campus, which are also free and in town. My opinion would be to skip it for time other places.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt88771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staunton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

the museum was interesting. would have liked to linger in the house a little longer. beautiful home. our tour guide was new and every comment and sentence started with "umm" which was very distracting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful old home well preserved. Gives a good idea of what likfe was like for the wealthy during the 1920's. Tour guide was informative. Takes less than half hour for tour and well worth a stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Pettigrew mansion & museum. Our guide was quite enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Their hours are good, the price was right and we would recommend the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuckyBadgeragogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This museum was very interesting to walk through. The staff that gave the tour was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly even though we came in late in the day and not long before closing time. Would highly recommend taking the time to walk through.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tcarter1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pettigrew Home & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pettigrew Home & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing