We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pettigrew Home & Museum

Pettigrew Home & Museum
Ranked #11 of 57 things to do in Sioux Falls
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored 1889 Queen Anne style home of South Dakota's first senator, R.F. Pettigrew.
staunton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

the museum was interesting. would have liked to linger in the house a little longer. beautiful home. our tour guide was new and every comment and sentence started with "umm" which was very distracting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful old home well preserved. Gives a good idea of what likfe was like for the wealthy during the 1920's. Tour guide was informative. Takes less than half hour for tour and well worth a stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Pettigrew mansion & museum. Our guide was quite enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Their hours are good, the price was right and we would recommend the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuckyBadgeragogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This museum was very interesting to walk through. The staff that gave the tour was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly even though we came in late in the day and not long before closing time. Would highly recommend taking the time to walk through.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tcarter1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Free, Beautiful, Historical Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

One of the things that makes this house so fantastic is its rich history. This is a free attraction, and something I would highly recommend. The tour guide was fantastic, and although taking photographs inside the home wasn't allowed, there were postcards and books one could purchase after the tour.
This home is spectacularly decorated! By far on the high points of my trip!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank VanEsq12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pettigrew Home & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pettigrew Home & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing