We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Disgusted” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this AmericInn due to relocation from a water leak at the Red Roof Inn (where we were originally booked) across the street. They moved our reservation to the AmericInn for us, as we were in the middle of the Badlands when they called to explain the water leak situation and they could not accommodate us. We arrived ate evening, our room was a typical hotel room. The hotel seems outdated, but perhaps recently undergone some renovation. The shower would not drain, there was urine splattered on the back of the toilet lid and a small speck of what appeared to be blood on the wall by the sink. The worst part, was pulling the sheets back to put my kids to bed and finding crumbs, hair, and either make-up or food smudged all over the sheets!! We called the front desk and the man offered to switch rooms or just bring fresh sheets. Due to the late hour and not wanting to move our stuff, we opted for fresh sheets. The man apologized and said they take that sort of thing very seriously. The next morning, as we went to check out, the man at the desk asked how our stay was. He had no idea what had happened in our room. We feel an incident such as that should have been recorded and the staff aware. After explaining our experience to the man at the desk, he gave us $15 off our stay. We will NOT be returning to this motel or any other AmericInn in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FabFamOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I sincerely apologize for everything that you encountered during your stay with us. This is not commonplace with us, as you can see by our other reviews. I can say that the housekeeper that cleaned your room is no longer with us. This is not something that we tolerate at our hotel, we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and our service to our guests.
I did try to contact you to talk to your personally as we would like to make things right for you. I honestly thought everything was ok when my assistant manager talked to you upon check out, but if this wasn't the case, I invite you to call me directly at 605-361-3508. We really try to make things right for our guests.
Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    79
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
96
53
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

On our way out west, I was looking for a hotel chain that we could stop for the night, not spend too much, take a quick dip in the pool, wake up to a decent breakfast and get back on the road. I found it in Americinn. Clean, friendly, nice pool and hot tub, easy in & out. A good value for a quick stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank news37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We are so happy that we could provide you with service that you expect from an AmericInn. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stopped here on a trip across the states and it was very clean and comfortable . We had had a long day on the road and appreciated the quick and easy check in and comfortable bed. We swam in the pool and loved the adults only time in the pool it was very relaxing . Breakfast was great nice choices and everything tasty . Would definately recommend to others .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KERRY1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We thank you for your kind review, we appreciate that you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We pride ourselves in our facility and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We traveled through Sioux Falls twice during a trip to the Black Hills. First stay was at the Hampton which was wonderful-clean, spacious modern room. It was booked on our return trip so I started reading reviews for another alternative. The AmericInn was not at the same level. We flt like we were in low quality motel. There was food splattered on the walls, the toilet rocked, the shower handle was brown with grime in the dial, and the shower barely spit out water. I was glad we were staying only 1 night! The room design is also really strange. You walk in to the sink immediately on the side. If someone was out of the room and another was trying to come back in, the person at the sink would get hit with the door! Also, the shower/toilet room has no fan, so plan on everything being wet in the room. There is one major positive: the motel was full and we were on the ground floor. We didn't hear any of our neighbors. It looks like they added acoustic ceiling panels to improve this feature compared to other hotels we've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that our hotel didn't suit your needs. We do have larger rooms available that I am sure you would have been happier with, we are only sorry that they weren't available during your stay.
Thank you again, and we hope that you have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our family stayed here on our last night of our trip. It was by far the nicest place we stayed for a week and was the best value. We had reservations. The staff was friendly. The room was very nice. It had modern decor and was so spacious. We had a fridge and a microwave. We used the fridge for our water/pop. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast area was clean and looked newly decorated. It offered numerous choices for breakfast. The hotel was close to restaurants, mall and we walked a block to the cinema to see a movie. We did not swim, but the pool area was very nice and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CornFarmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel, and will try to keep providing the service that we do to bring you back.

Thank you again, and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel, just like all of the Americinn hotels I have stayed at in the past was top rate. I have not experienced anything other than great check in service, great staff and great accommodations. Clean and quiet rooms, everything works and is always nicely decorated.The bonus of having a coffee maker,microwave and refrigerator in every room is wonderful. The pool area is always clean and well maintained ( and warm!) Breakfast is always a treat as well. The price is well worth everything that one can get from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will work hard to maintain your trust and your business.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again. Hope you have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yankton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I travel for work and stay in motels every week all over the state. It is always good to check in to the Americinn in Sioux Falls. Always. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. This is not always the case when checking in to other motels, even other Americinns in the state. I have left things behind and they have always gone out of their way to protect my items. The breakfast is good, fresh fruit available, hot coffee and a clean area to eat in. I highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendakayYankton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy A, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for submitting a review concerning your stay with us. We value our business guests, and we try to go out of our way to make this your "home away from home".

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
#12 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
#30 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
#21 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
#16 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Sioux Falls
Courtyard Sioux Falls
#31 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls
Address: 3508 S Gateway Blvd, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-1558
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls is the ideal location for your next stay, whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. We are proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Our hotel offers a variety of room types, each featuring 32” LCD flat screen TVs, including suites with whirlpools. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Relax in our cozy fire-lit lobby and enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub.AmericInn Hotel and Suites is conveniently located off I-29 & 41st street in Sioux Falls, just minutes from all the area's best attractions, including the Empire Mall. During your stay, be sure to explore the area and the many riches that make it unique, from parks to culture, entertainment, shopping, sports and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing