We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Poor service I pedestrian foof” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Szechwan Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Szechwan Chinese Restaurant
2821 West 41st Street, Sioux Falls, SD
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 368 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service I pedestrian foof”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have been to both locations. For lunch I waited and waited, no that I was in a hurry, but most workers on lunch break are. Few choices for a lunch combo special. At dinner with family their Szchewan shrimp was soupy and the sauce a tangy Campbell's tomato soup. The fried rice was on of the worst I had. Good basic Chinese food to rival Hong Kong and Singapore can be found in Sioux Falls, just not here. Their desire is fantastic. But they need a new chef.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The prices are a little high, but the food is excellent, the service is friendly, It is great for the whole family.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Zero Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went in on Saturday for lunch. I was seated promptly and given water. Then nothing...After waiting 20 min for a server to come(all while watching people who came after us getting served) we left. It ruined our afternoon. I went home and had frozen pizza instead. Very disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My favorite Chinese in Sioux Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The food is fresh and they can make it as spicy as you like it. Not greasy and heavy like some local places.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor Sweet and Sour Chicken”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We ordered take-out here recently - sweet and sour chicken and chicken fried rice. The latter was OK but the sweet and sour chicken was not very good. There was very minimal chicken and was mostly batter. The sauce was terrible and was not your standard sweet and sour sauce. We could not eat it. Will continue to look for another place for chinese food in Sioux Falls. We have eaten at many chinese food places across the continent most recently in New Orleans.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HomerWellsSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechwan Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Szechwan Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing