We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food, great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lalibela

Lalibela
Ranked #58 of 389 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We love the food here!! Staff is really nice to people who haven't dined Ethiopian before. We recommend it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ljbeethoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ND
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent food. The service is a little slow to get to your table, but seems typical for the culture. Meal arrived quickly after that.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nae926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, South Dakota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The steak tibs is one of my all-time favorite meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've been spreading the "gospel" of Lalibela's. This is mostly unknown dining jewel in Sioux Falls. The steak tibs served on injera bread is truly one of my all-time favorite meals. Very deliciuos with very friendly and efficient service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TALarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The vegetarian dish is great. Service is friendly. The restaurant could benefit from a good cleaning :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic Ethiopian food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

I discovered Lalibela's a few years ago and it's become my favorite restaurant in SF - every time I'm in town eat there. Don't let the strip-mall appearance fool you - the food is awesome and authentic and the service is friendly and personal. My favorite dishes are #3 (a little spicy) and #7 (a little more spicy). #4 is very mild and tasty if you don't like it spicy. Mulugeta, the owner, is extremely friendly and if you call 15 minutes or more in advance he will have it ready for you when you arrive.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalibela also viewed

 

Been to Lalibela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing