We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Joseph Cathedral

St. Joseph Cathedral
Ranked #2 of 55 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Waukesha
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The main and side altars are spectacular. You got to check out the beautiful statue of St Joseph in the front of the church.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BQuad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    27
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The historical cathedral.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I grew up in Sioux Falls so was quite familiar with the Cathedral but it will always remain an inspiration to me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended. I suggest taking the guided tour Monday through Friday at 1 PM. The church is absolutely stunning. No expense was spared in the renovation of this church that is over a century old. the attention to detail is very apparent.

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We usually don't visit churches but we read about this and had some spare time. We are so glad that we visited this attraction. I say attraction because it is a site to see. Beautiful church which you can see in the cityscape of this town. Great sculptures and stained glass. It is huge. Take time to see this as you will remember forever.

Helpful?
Thank Davin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a beautiful old church and parsonage that shows the amazing talent of our forefathers in design and architectural feats of greatness. They truly put forth their best efforts when designing this cathedral and the grounds that surround it deserve a stroll to enjoy the beauty of the floral elements incorporated in the nearby gardens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Joseph Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing