We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Joseph Cathedral

St. Joseph Cathedral
521 N Duluth Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-2714
(605) 336-7390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We usually don't visit churches but we read about this and had some spare time. We are so glad that we visited this attraction. I say attraction because it is a site to see. Beautiful church which you can see in the cityscape of this town. Great sculptures and stained glass. It is huge. Take time to see this as you will remember forever.

Helpful?
Thank Davin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    24
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgerton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a beautiful old church and parsonage that shows the amazing talent of our forefathers in design and architectural feats of greatness. They truly put forth their best efforts when designing this cathedral and the grounds that surround it deserve a stroll to enjoy the beauty of the floral elements incorporated in the nearby gardens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was an impressive building but then again, aren't most such buildings?
We've seen more impressive structures & less impressive structures thus rating this an average site.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Indeed, a beautiful cathedral!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Recently updated and very beautiful interior in French Romanesque style, which is especially attractive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An impressive sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The steeples of this catherdral stand out on the horizon as you approach Sioux Falls. This is an impressive, massive limestone structure on a hill overlooking the business district. We only drove by. Can't imagine how beautiful it must be on the inside. The adjoining neigborhood is the historical district that has several huge, beautiful historic homes that are well kept and worth the drive by.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BandBsRGr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Joseph Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing