We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL. Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Brainerd, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL. Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

First, I got to this hotel and was given a smoking room because, "Nothing else was available". When I demanded my money back they found me a non smoking room, but it was disgusting. The crack under the door was at least an inch gap, the security door didn't work properly which meant anyone could enter and exit the hotel. Numerous shady women, who appeared to be hookers were seen coming and going. It was loud. But very worst of all it was VERY VERY dirty. Rusty fixtures, stained and worn carpets, broken mirror. Typically I love microtels for their value and cleanliness, but this one made me think twice.

Room Tip: Don't choose first floor, cracks under the doors are huge and it does not feel very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    80
    98
    68
    45
See reviews for
123
84
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Like all Microtels, this one is fine for a one night stay on your way to somewhere else. The rooms are small, but have everything you need including a refrigerator. The motel is located right off the interstate and has numerous places to eat nearby. The check in was quick and friendly. The breakfast is just the standard fare found anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Avoid this place, it's priced cheaply but you get what you pay for. Our chief complaint was the noise - we could hear everyone showering or flushing, doors slamming, etc. The side door had a key slide that didn't work, so anyone could walk in off the street. There was a big ruckus at 3 AM Monday morning - crazy! Lastly, the rug had been patched, the bathroom wall had a huge crack around the sink like it was about to fall down, and the bathroom was dirty. It was not a nice way to start our vacation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanddmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sioux Falls hotels

Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is an average hotel in the Microtel chain nothing too special. Getting to the hotel itself was an adventure. You can see it as you approach from the interstate so you know it is there, but with all the construction and congestion in the area finding it was a chore. It is the first right as you come off the interstate bridge, but because of the construction I had to go on down to the next street. The area mall in on the right side of the street coming in so if you arrive at the wrong time of day you then have to wait for the traffic congestion to get to that next street (which I did). I then had to drive down that second street until I seen a connecting road that led down to the other street the hotel was on (there was one by a large hardware store) and backtrack back to the motel.

Check in went fine. When I first entered the room there was a bad smell. Not sure if it was musty or exactly what. I guess I kind of got used to it or the climate control unit alleviated it somewhat, but it did become a little less noticeable after a time. The room appeared clean though and the linens were clean. The rooms can be a bit small for families, but good for business, solo and couple travelers. The beds were comfortable and they give you several pillows to use. The work area wasn't overly large, but useable. Not that many plugins to use though. I had to go under the desk to plug my laptop in. My cell phone and camera I had to plug in and set on the floor by the bed so if you are one who likes all your stuff in the same place this may distract you a bit.

About 15 minutes into the room the front desk called and asked if everything was ok with the room and if there was any luggage that was not mine in the room. Ended up a guest checked out that morning, but they didn't pull the person's room ticket from their housekeeping records and she had to call to make sure that the room was not double booked. She was very apologetic about it and was very nice throughout the whole matter, but a bit scary the logistics system isn't a bit stronger and allowed this to happen in the first place.

Only real gripe I had was the odor in the room. Not sure if all the rooms had this smell, but the room I stayed in at least needed a good ionization treatment and a stick up. The breakfast was average and the employees were friendly so overall I'll call it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alman4869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, MN
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We checked in and everything was okay, slow, but we got our room. The rooms are a bit small. The beds were comfortable, but the bedding is worn and in need of replacement. The carpet is worn out, has some stains and needs to be replaced (at least in our room). I'll be honest, my kids were very loud that night and we had a hard time settling them down. The bikers on their way to Sturgis were much quieter than we were. One good thing is that the guest laundry/washing machine is free. The drier is not, but it was only 75 cents to operate. Breakfast is cereal, toast, pastries, juices and coffee, but the breakfast is free which is good for families. This hotel is very close to I29 so very convenient and is also right across the street from the Empire Mall. We'd stay there again since we only needed a roof over our heads that night, but it's nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden, maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had been driving 700 miles a day with no time to shop motels when we arrived late at night. Mobile Internet gave my companion the ability to search hotels by reviews and amenities offered. Having never been at a Microtel before I was hesistant. The room was spotless, the a/c was excellent though a little noisy, and the beds were top quality with fitted bottom sheets ( a welcome surprise after fighting with top sheets used as bottom sheets in other hotels. . e.g.They end up in a bunch and youre sleeping on a raw mattress instead!) The ammenities to value ratio was indicitive of a 4 star hotel yet the price was reasonable...especially with a AAA club card. Breakfast was spartan but adequate continental style. Check in was a breeze, service friendly and sleep easily attained. We will stay again....which we did the next night in Indiana with similar results. Can't ask for better for the price! Oh and floor level washer dryer was a bonus as well.

Room Tip: If you are getting in late always ask for ground floor room and don't forget to ask for non-smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serious49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and were very pleased with the cleanliness, comfort, and price of the rooms. It was also located near alot of resturants, and shopping. Very easy to find. Will definetly stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRENDA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Sioux Falls
Days Inn Sioux Falls
#33 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
#28 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
3.5 mi away
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#34 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites South
Quality Inn & Suites South
#40 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls
Address: 2901 S Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-0732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Microtel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing