We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on the River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great Location on the River”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a new high rise Country Inn in the downtown area which is located right on the pretty Big Sioux RIver. It's right next to the paved river walk which goes for 18 miles around Sioux Falls (great for jogging, etc.). It's only a 1/4 mile from Falls Park and an easy walk to the downtown entertainment district along Phillips Avenue, which has good restaurants and bars. Our King Room overlooked the river---very nice.Thus, the highlight is the location, as in other respects it's your typical Country Inn with clean rooms, nice amenities, free breakfast, etc. The fitness center and pool are average for the chain. I found the lady at the front desk to be rather abrupt and not real friendly. There is a casual restaurant at the lower level of the hotel building---don't think it's owned by Country Inn, though. All in all, a nice stay with a good view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    148
    44
    19
    11
See reviews for
160
111
24
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with family one night on the way to Yellowstone. Our room was clean enough and modern enough. But the room was little small compared to other hotels. Breakfast was ok. There is a bike/walk path behind the hotel leading to the Falls Park which we took advantage of. That was nice. Unless I have some business to do in downtown, I may look for a better value somewhere else next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was a bit leary to book this based on other reviews, but it was fine. Stayed here Mon-Thurs for a mini getaway vacation. Hotel was clean, beds very, very comfortable--including the pillows! Breakfast was typical. Was very convenient to everything in Sioux Falls and easy to find/get to. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgalF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This place is getting a little run down. It is clear that Country Inn has not spent money at this location in quite a while. Our room was so worn that my wife had difficulty sleeping because she suspected the place of having bed bugs. It seemed like a place that might. We didn't experience any bed bugs, but it wouldn't have surprised me. I seriously thought about moving us to a different hotel but it was storming outside. Should I expect more for $150? The parking lot is tiny and inconvenient. The staff was nice and helpful, and the breakfast was good for this type of hotel, but I was happy to leave.

Room Tip: There have to be better options in Sioux Falls. I wouldn't stay here again until they update.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goliath209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our daughter recently got married in Sioux Falls and our family/friends stayed at the Country Inn & Suites. The rooms were clean, quiet and spacious. The breakfast area was large enough to accomodate our group and the food was plentiful and delicious. The rates were reasonable - staff were friendly and location was perfect for hosting our out of town guests. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this facility--our appreciation to everyone who served us!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the North/River View -- it is magnificent :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked a block of rooms at the Country Inn and Suites for our wedding in May. The location was close enough to our reception hall that guests would walk back to the hotel after the dance was finished. The breakfast was great for guests on Sunday morning. We also did our rehersal dinner in the banquet room. What great service for the small price it cost to rent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinh54805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here while in town attending a wedding at the Washington Pavilion. We stayed in the one bedroom suite, which was very nice & clean.
Only complaints I have are the curtains are sheer, so blocking out light is impossible. Also in the morning, before checking out, housekeeping came by twice (both times while our 1 year old was napping). I was annoyed & wondered why they couldn't go to rooms where people have checked out already versus just knocking on doors yelling "housekeeping".
The pool and amenities were very nice, hotel was very clean, & the continental breakfast was the best I've ever had (omelets, potatoes, sausage, waffles with toppings, biscuits & gravy, cereal, pastries, juice, coffee, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal with toppings, and more)!
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleAlissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
2.9 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#13 of 53 in Sioux Falls
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Address: 200 E 8th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57103-7041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing