We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect place to stay if you'd like to see the Falls and walk to town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
315 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay if you'd like to see the Falls and walk to town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

We wanted to try a Country Inn and Suites, and the location of this one was reviewed as being near the Falls. We didn't get a chance on a earlier stop in Sioux Falls so I was looking forward to it. We were not disappointed. We arrived, to f ind a very full parking lot - apparently a wedding and a family reunion were involved. We did get the last spot, and there is overflow parking next door. We were graciously checked in, and found the room to be quite roomy for our three large pieces of luggage. Since parking seemed to be full, we decided not to move the car but did walk to town and had dinner at the Phillips Avenue Diner (we had already eatten at Minerva's on a earlier trip - good but a little pricey). This place is not your average diner - it has a lot of atmosphere, excellent service and good food! We were very pleased, and it was nice to be able to take a walk afterwards and watch the horse and carriages along Phillips avenue. The hotel does have a restraunt with a overlook of the river, but there was a private party going on so we decided to eat elsewhere.

We took a walk outside to find the walkway nearby that can take you to the falls. It would have been easier to walk off the deck of the hotel, but there was a large party on it when we were there so we didn't want to just cut across. The walk is easy enough, and you'll come across the falls. What a lovely park! There is a tower there that has an elevator there to see the view, and a gift shop that was quite reasonable! We happily walked away with two $5.00 T shirts. Bring your camera, and there is a light show at night, though we opted not to stay for it. The path is a lovely walk from the falls to the town area.

Monk's Ale house is right down the street from the hotel. We didn't get a chance to go here but we've been to the one in Philly - which is very good. Also there is a giant train yard next to the park at the Falls and you'll see tracks and a old train station near the hotel.

Once nice mention for Country Inn and Suites - they have a Read and Return program. Yes, they have a book shelf full of books you can borrow - and if your not done when you stay is done, just send it back later. I had just finished a book I brought and needed something to do while waiting for laundry - and happily read a paperback from this shelf. What a lovely idea.

Overall we had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to town and the falls
  • Disliked — Small parking lot just in front of the hotel - though extra parking is nearby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    111
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
119
76
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
384 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

We were guests of the hotel on July 6, 2007. We stayed in a 2 room suite and had a AAA /CAA rate of $116.10.

We have stayed at several Country Inn Suites in Canada. This one had fewer amenities than some. Front desk staff was civil but quite inhospitable.

Our room was clean and quiet and we had a nice view of the river.

The hotel is well located to Philips?, a historic area of the city with outdoor patios, bars, and restaurants.. We dined at Minervas and had a very good meal and then walked the very pretty street.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

Stayed here on business from April.3-5. Received a standard room. Good size and comfortable bed and pillows. Heating/Colling units in room are very loud and are not consistent.

Continental breakfast was limited but ok. Very average hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of amenities, loud inconsistent heating/cooling units
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TBagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
223 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

We recently stayed here for one night and were pleased. Very reasonable rates. Parking is a little tight but not unexpected for a downtown location in any city. Little disappointed in the pool area-it is much smaller than it appears in photos. However, the rooms were nice-your typical hotel but up to date and very clean. My husband and his uncle spent some time in the lounge and enjoyed it-friendly staff and patrons. Nice breakfast area and nice breakfast including waffles. Check-in and check-out were a breeze and the staff was very accomodating-made copies for me at no charge. They also have a computer in the lobby available if you need to check e-mails or what-not. I booked this hotel mainly because it was walking distance to the falls which I had missed on 2 previous trips. Turns out we arrived too late to see the falls so a motel by the highway would have been more convenient but I have no complaints and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank librarychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2005

Our family of four stayed in mid-July. It was ok. We really like the one bedroom suites for our family and Country Inns has them. The room was nice and we had a view of the river.
The pool was also nice and clean.
One downside, the resturant. They have a happy hour from 4 to 7 and it was really too "bar"-like for our kids.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoredAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2003

We book this place a month earlier, after reading a tripadvisor review.
We arrived on 6/6 and everything was just right! The room was great and the desk service was right on the ball. As "bloody tourists" we were in need of any help we could get and the staff were just great.We shared ribs on the balcony (beer garden as we say) overlooking the river and then wandered down to the falls for the evening light show. It ended up being a late night (about 1am), the room was perfect, no noise through the walls etc.The place was very busy, a junior soccer team was in but that didn't phase anyone.The self serve breakfast (continental) is the best we have had! Including waffles & muffins.As far as we are concerned it is about the best value for money we had in the whole 5 weeks we were touring. Coupled with good friendly service, we stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2003

We had booked our Wednesday night stay earlier in the day. The first thing we noticed was the lack of parking. The check-in lobby was small and there was no luggage cart available (something necessary for a family). The non-smoking suite we had booked smelled strongly of cleaners and had definately been smoked in very recently. The pool was small with a lack of lighting. The bar/restaurant was filled with smokers, even in the no smoking section. Instead of eating, we diecided to leave and checked out of this hotel 30 minutes after arriving.

Helpful?
7 Thank Shelly_Stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
2.6 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#10 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Address: 200 E 8th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57103-7041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing