We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Walk to Falls Park and Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Walk to Falls Park and Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. The manager on duty when we checked in was very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. No problem with our room; it was just as expected and had a nice view of the river. We stayed in a suite with a queen bed in one bedroom and a pullout for the kids in the sitting room area. Comfortable beds and nice televisions. Falls Park is a ten minute walk from the hotel and you could easily walk downtown to restaurants and the wonderful sculpture walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UsuallyHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    115
    32
    14
    7
See reviews for
124
81
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My team and I travel to Sioux Falls regularly. We always stay at this hotel. WHY? the staff is amazing..especially the front desk team and the manager (spiky black hair gal). The rooms are literally spotless and the beds are to die for. These are the most comfortable rooms with plenty of lighting and a very clean feel! I would reccomend this hotel over any other brand! The best I stay at!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tknebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I looked through the Sioux Falls Visitor Guide for awhile before calling for a reservation. When I called the 800 number the woman was not able to "locate" the discount from the guide. So I called the local number directly. I told the woman we had two adults and three kids. She told me she had a two queen with a pullout or a suite with the same. The base rate was very reasonable for a suite so I booked that. I asked if I could hold the room with my debit card, then pay with cash. She said that would be fine and to just pay with cash at check out. When we arrived, we checked in with no problems. When we got to the room the kids asked where the other bed was. It had one queen bed in a bedroom and a pullout couch. When I asked the gentleman at the desk about it he said that they didnt have any rooms like that in the hotel. I said "you dont have any rooms that sleep five?" Nope. Not without a roll away and that will be an extra ten dollars. ??!! Why in the world would the girl on the phone tell me you had a room for five people?! So I asked if he could waive the extra charge. Nope. Thats their policy... Should have just left but we had already gotten bags in room and everybody was ready to go site seeing and start our vacation. So I sucked up the extra charge. Ugh. Then later my husband comes to tell me there the front desk called saying there was a problem with the billing and wanted our credit card #. My husband obviously did not give that out and said he would go to the front desk. So I went to the front desk to talk to the gentleman there. I told him what was going on and he asked if he was the one that checked us in. I said yes and he looked it up on the computer and said he checked us in just fine and the credit card went through fine. He said he remembered sending the phone call up to us and they had just asked for room number 206. He did call his supervisor and he was told to not send calls to a room number without asking who they were looking for. Then when we were ready to leave in the morning we got our receipt under the door and our credit card was charged at 2 in the morning instead of being able to pay cash. Overall after our experience I would not recommend staying at this location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bean52136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We are sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We have addressed the issues you mentioned to make sure that this doesn't happen in the future. We hope if you are in the area again you will give us another try. Please call Amber at the hotel so we can make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enuff about Amber and her staff at this awesome hotel! Stay here over 25 days a year and love it! New fitness center, stunning view of the the river, great restaurants in the area and a fun little bar and deck next to the Sioux River. Good breakfast too! Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Can't understand why AAA gives this facility just 2 diamonds. It's clearly far better than that. The place is well maintained and exceptionally clean. Rooms are well furnished and comfortable and quiet. The beds and bedding are not top-notch but are still fine. TV and wi-fi are great. It's within a short walk to downtown and is right on the super bike trail that encircles the city. Most impressive was the breakfast. Excellent variety of high quality food served on/with plates, cups, utensils good enough to be in one's home, i.e., no paper and plastic. We've stayed here a number of times and will certainly do so again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west overlook the river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodag1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this immaculately clean, quiet, friendly hotel. It took less than 5 minutes to get here from the highway, and it was a world away. As others have mentioned, there's a great path for strolling right at your door, charming river views, and plenty to see and do within walking distance. We are so glad we didn't just blow past Sioux Falls, staying on the interstate and eating in a chain.

Particularly, I appreciated that (a) the air conditioner worked a charm, even on an upper story, facing west on a hot day (b) the windows opened--rare in modern hotels (c) there were plenty of extra pillows and blankets and (d) to-go breakfasts are available for early departures.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed there the last 3 weekends, due to the location being so close to the Avera McKennen Hospital. I was very happy with how clean and quiet it was even though one of the nights it was full of high school track teams for the state events. Also its so nice to have the creek/river right out your window. The front desk staff was always very helpful with all our needs. The food was good, (get there early), and easy parking. Great running/walking paths right out the door.
I would stay there again when I am back in town.

Room Tip: get the side with the window to the river....not over the bar/restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEFRAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
2.6 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#10 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Address: 200 E 8th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57103-7041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Regatta Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing