We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis Mn
Level Contributor
338 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great Location and Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family has been gathering at this hotel for several years for a family reunion in October. It is very well run and has an excellent staff. The location on the Sioux River is perfect for walking or jogging to the Falls, and it is a very easy walk to downtown Sioux Falls. The breakfast has everything anybody could want. The rooms are large and all have refrigerators and microwaves.
The breakfast room gets really crowded on busy days, but free is free. The walls are a little thin (noise) but the price, location, friendly staff, and free breakfast far outweigh these two small criticisms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay! So glad you enjoyed your visit. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    135
    38
    17
    10
See reviews for
147
96
23
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I travel regularly to Sioux Falls for business and always stay at the Country Inn and Suites. Recently rennovated, the property is clean and inviting. Continental breakfast, workout room, pool, laundry, restaurant/lounge, free wifi and daily newspaper all available for my use. The manager and all staff are friendly and helpful. I am treated as a valued guest and greeted by name. I initially stayed because it was a convenient location; I return and recommend it to others because it is a great place to stay. I would also recommend joining the Carlson Club.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marje57401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoy the property time and time again. Agreed the river views are awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for $77 for an overnight Avera Hospital stay. This is probably the closest hotel to Avera. We had to be at the hospital by 6:45 AM and had only about a five minute drive. Great facility. Marvelous, friendly, helpful staff. Staff is bubbly and friendly with everyone. The desk clerk told me the motel was 16 years old, but it has been recently renovated, and looks and smells like new. Rooms are sparkling clean. Has an adjacent restaurant, with good food.

Room Tip: located in downtown Sioux Falls, on the river, close to fine dining, entertainment, and near the Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobjan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are so glad that you found our location perfect for your hospital visit. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
189 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed this riverside hotel in the heart of Sioux Falls, SD. The service is spectacular, what one would expect from a four star(plus). The room was spacious, very clean, well appointed for business travel, free wifi, free hot breakfast, on site pub, and 24 hour fresh tea and coffee. The parking was free. The decor is fresh and modern. This is a great break from your ordinary hotel chains, with a five star location. The management here has a winning formula for a relaxing hotel stay. Check out time is at noon, so enjoy that extra sleep or swim before you check out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyincharlietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad the property was what you were looking for. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed at Many Country Inn and Suites, But this property stands out by a Far!
Awsome Staff, Right downtown Sioux Falls, SD near many resturants and things to do. Right on the river! In addition to everything this property has a pool, hot tub and resturant and bar right on property! Being a Carlson member they were so kind as to upgrade me to a executive room with a jacuzzi! Thank you Very much for your services!

Room Tip: if available request a room with a river view, I didnt have one but I bet its very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Upgrades are always nice! Thank you for being a loyal carlson member. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Location is very convenient and staff was very helpful. Our executive room had jacuzzi and comfortable bed. It was quite large and well equipped. Two problems, one most likely a weekend problem only: The breakfast room was mobbed on Saturday and Sunday. There was no place to sit for 15 minutes and everything was running out.There was NO COFFEE for at least the first 10 minutes. On Sunday there was only one worker who was trying very hard, but she just couldn't keep up with the mob. The breakfast had healthy choices including very good oatmeal and apples and oranges (but avoid the frozen mixed fruit -- it was disgusting). The second problem was the soundproofing. If anyone close to us used their jacuzzi, it sounded like it was right in our room -- really LOUD -- especially at 2 am. I would come here again, but only during the week.

Room Tip: In back and nowhere near a room with jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargeBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are sorry you experienced some issues while at the property. We have taken your comments and tried to correct them. We now are using our large meeting room as overflow for the days breakfast is crowded and always have two people scheduled on busy mornings. Glad that overall your stay was good. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with good beds, a nice continental breakfast with hot oatmeal and several rotating hot items daily. The exercise room is remodeled with 2 treadmills, 1 eliptical, a weight machine - very nice. The best part of the stay though is the downtown location near the falls and some really neat restaurants and bars around the corner on Philips Ave. Way better staying down here than by the Empire Mall where tons of htls are.
Air conditioners work great at this hjotel - our room was like a meat locker on a very hot weekend. The only negative of this hotel is the breakfast room is too small and sometimes it is hard to find a table and you can hear people walking above you in the floor above.
Will definitely stay here again - really charming part of town and continually getting better.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor so you don't hear people walking above you or bring a noise maker to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavfan1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelbyK138, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are glad you were able to enjoy our exercise room and location. Great that you were able to enjoy the downtown area. Sorry for the noise you heard above you. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#12 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Address: 200 East 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing