We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected customer service perk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Stayed at this Hampton Inn back in July of this year. The property is well kept and clean. Freindly staff upon check-in. Convenient access to freeway and numerous restaurants. My room was typical for a Hampton Inn but actually a tad smaller than most other Hampton Inns I've stayed at. One small issue- the pool and hot tub overwhelmed me (and other guests) with the smell of too much chlorine. The one nice touch that really made my stay was in the morning, along with the complimentary USA Today, was a website printout of my local newspaper (Milwaukee). It was a great way to really make me feel at home and I have never experienced this small but appreciated perk at any hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 608 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2007

This hotel was an excellent stop off point on our way from the Chicago area to Mt Rushmore area. The hotel was well kept, clean and had very friendly staff. It was very easily accessible from the expressway and was in a central location to restaurants for an evening meal. The continental breakfast was good, well stocked and restocked and staff walking around clearing up. Probably one of the best attended by staff that I have ever seen. Be sure to go to see the Falls park--well worth the 30 minutes to view the falls and enjoy the park. Be sure to go up into the 5 story viewing tower for a few pictures.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Researchmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Tucked away in a large shopping, dining and entertainment area. You can walk to nearby restaurants. Well maintained and clean. Somehow remained quiet, in spite of the bus tour groups and youth soccer teams staying there at the same time. Though not enough breakfast items or seating the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyVacationReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2005

We reserved a delux room with two-person, in-room jaccuzi, refridgerator, microwave, and king bed. This was our first stay at a Hampton Inn and in a Hilton line hotel. We reserved a delux room as it was our one-year aniversary and wanted to spring for nicer accommodations.

We arrived at the Hampton Inn around 1:00 p.m. on a Sunday afternoon. We were told our room was not ready and was not garunteed until 3:00 p.m. Since this was customary, we left to wander around the mall and other stores to burn time. We returned at 3:00 p.m. and were told it would be another 35 minutes until our room was cleaned!!! The staff knew we were waiting to check in, yet did nothing to get our room ready. We waited in the lobby and watched the cleaning personnel walk by idly chatting with the front desk managers three times. Each time we politely inquired as to the availablility of our room, we were told that it was not ready. We were the last room on the list of rooms to be cleaned - even though we had been there for two hours and were sitting right in front of them waiting! The desk managers had the attitude of "you'll get in when we feel like getting you in." Two separate desk manager failed to provide the kind of service a Hampton Inn - a Hilton line inn - should provide. Needless to say we were very upset as to our treatment by the Hampton staff.

Our room, when we were allowed to check-in, was wonderfull. It was spacious and well-laid out. The jaccuzi was beautiful and did much to alliviate our tired nerves and bad temperments.

The pool was small but easily accommodated several families while we were there. The hot tub/spa was slightly larger (in porportion) and easily accomodated 10 adults.

The rooms were quiet and we were not disturbed during our stay.

The morning breakfast buffet was above normal. There were hot sausage and egg sandwiches, as well as the requisite pastries, cold cereal, yogurt, and drinks.

Overall the Hampton Inn was a better hotel. The service at check in leaves much to be desired. Be prepared for long waits and less than 4-star service.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FamilyTraveller50125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2005

My wife and I stayed here on our way to the Black Hills of South Dakota. The hotel was very clean and well cared for. The location was convenient and easy to find from I-29. It is in a shopping center area, with lots of resturants nearby (Cracker Barrell and Ruby Tuesdays). Front Desk Staff was outstanding! Very helpful and nice lady. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank belleandbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
14
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Very good facilities with an excellent location near several restaurants. Staff is very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank bucaneve1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcCabe, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 54 in Sioux Falls
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sioux Falls

Address: 2417 S Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range: $99 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sioux Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing