We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian Food and Great Naan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shahi Palace

Shahi Palace
Ranked #43 of 380 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Freeman, South Dakota
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food and Great Naan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've been here for dinner a few times and for lunch once. Dinner here is great. I try to try a different curry every time I come and every time it's been good. The Butter Chicken is tasty and great for those that don't like much spice. The Rogan Josh is one of my favorites and is great for those who like lamb. Ordering this moderate or hot should provide a good amount of spice. The naan here is also great. By far, my favorite is the garlic naan but there's a wide variety stuffed with fruits, spices, and more. The mango lassi is also very refreshing. The lunch buffet here is okay. It isn't very impressive but is good if you don't know what to order. The servers usually range from okay to pretty good and the atmosphere can suit many occasions and people but still maintains a "hint of strip mall". I will come here again soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I were craving Indian food while on our cross-country road trip and were very pleased to find this restaurant near our hotel. Our entrees were delicious. The menu includes several dairy and gluten-free options as well as a kids menu (in case your kids insist on mac-n-cheese over dal). I would highly recommend this restaurant to travelers and locals alike.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chicagocurator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“can't stop going here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This strip mall restaurant has surprisingly great food and a casual but elegant atmosphere with brass kettles, white tablecloths and red napkins. And it is very reasonably priced for the quality. Have now been here 3 times - it's my favorite place for lunch whenever I can get there. I thoroughly enjoy the lunch buffet- curry chicken, creamy vegetable korma, basmati rice, crispy tender fish pakora, spicy green chili with homemade cheese, dahl, naan bread, mint and tamarind chutney. Everything tastes so good together. All entrees are gluten free and they have a halal meat certificate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Totally yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently ate here while staying at a nearby hotel, the food was wonderful and reasonably priced. Being from Minnesota, we all opted for the 'mild' spice and found it plenty tame for our northern palettes. The cracker bread they brought out 'complimentary' was a bit hot for us, but the waiter took note and kept our water glasses full! All of our entrees were very tasty, no problem to ask for more rice. We had the plain naan, and shared a carrot dessert.

I only wish we lived closer so it could be my new favorite restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mnwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, South Dakota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Actually spicy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The food was great. When we got spicy it was actually spicy. The place looked pretty. Wait staff was ok needed to be more attentive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahi Palace also viewed

 
Sioux Falls, SD
Sioux Falls, SD
 

Been to Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing