We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An enjoyable Indian meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shahi Palace

Shahi Palace
Ranked #43 of 380 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Duncanville
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An enjoyable Indian meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

As a couple who enjoy Indian food we were agreeably surprised to find this restaurant in Sioux Falls. The atmosphere is comfortable, the menu offered a wide range of choices in appetizers, entrees and breads typical of all the Indian restaurants we have enjoyed. The service was good without being intrusive. I had the tandoori fish tikka and my wife the chicken tikka masala along with paneer kulcha bread. Both our meals were good and enjoyable but not exceptional. The price was reasonable and if you enjoy Indian food this Shahi will not disappoint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Reasonable Indian food in a very pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Shah Palace is a very reasonable choice for Indian food when in Sioux Falls. The atmosphere is very pleasant and I love the cricket match playing on the large screen tv's. The service was also very attentive, prompt and friendly. The food is reasonably priced but falls a bit short in quality. The best part of the meal was the appetizer, we choose the Shahi combination. The somosas were well presented and the variety was wonderful. The fried selections were not greasy at all. The shrimp vindaloo was quite spicy, but the sauce was otherwise somewhat boring. The shrimp was not fresh, it had been frozen. That is to be expected in an area far from the water. Much better was the chicken tikkha masala. The chicken was very tender and the sauce was really flavorful. We chose the paneer kulcha, this bread was wonderful. The cheese was delicious, the bread was moist and not overly baked. The rice was not good. It was burnt, dried out in chunks, and frankly disappointing. We didn't have dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarasotaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food. A real find in Sioux Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food was great. The staff is very nice. They were even patient with my (slightly loud) two year old. It is a little too expensive to go all the time - but the prices are on-par with other Indian restaurants. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dayglopixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We mopped up all the sauce with our delicious naan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything was first class, but very reasonably priced. Among our best Indian meals ever. The complimentary papudum was great. The naan was soft and springy and charred just right. The entree was delicious. The decor is modern and tastefully done. We loved the cricket match on the t.v. - a little extra Indian ambiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrace809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Tired from a day of business and traveling decided to try out the local Indian restaurant. Decorated in an excellent manner and not overdone. I had the Palak Paneer with rice and one roti. It was quite filling and delicious. Definitely worth visiting at least once.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shivank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing