We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First time for Vietnamese Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant

Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 375 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First time for Vietnamese Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family picked us up from the airport in SD & wanted to take us to their favorite restaurant. I never had this type. My 8 yr old niece loves this restaurant & everything on the menu. It was okay for me. I'm not used to this type of food. The portions were generous, and wait staff gracious. I would say it was good. We had a large party & they were great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seasnowcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had to give Lams a try after having tried all the other Asian restaurants. I have to say. If you love tons of cilantro in your food this is the place for you. I will say the presentation of every dish we had was stunning. The pho was almost inedible for me. Not that it was bad by no means, I just don't like a sea of cilantro in my soup. I like to add my own cilantro to my pho but it came completely engulfed in it. The egg rolls were very grainy. We almost didn't even finish it. I was very sad at the taste of the food, But I will give them another try and see if other dishes are any better. But place is cute, clean and service was OK. Just sad because I had really high expectations on my first visit and was let totally down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST food in SF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hands down, Lams has the most delectable food in all of Sioux Falls! Everything from their pork dishes to the pho, to the appetizers or the salads. Every bite is so aromatic and bursting with flavor! Although the location is a bit out of the way, the place is packed whenever we go. If you're new to vietnamese and aren't sure what to order, Lam's provides pictures and descriptions for each option which is helpful. Also, I highly recommend ordering a pot of tea ( a whole $2!) and a spring roll. If I had to choose, I'd have to say the summer salad or the spicy pho are the best things I've tried so far but it's all been wonderful. Great service, clean, and always fresh! Lam's is the best!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melba F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Benton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Something different and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I had never had Vietnamese food before visiting Lam's. My husband and I decided to check it out. We had an appetizer platter with a variety of things on it. There were spring roll type things with great dipping sauces. Neither one of us ordered the pho, but we wish we would have since that is kind of their signature dish. We will go back for sure. The restaurant was in a odd part of town though, but we didn't have any issues.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lahanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am a repeat diner at Lam's, mainly, because the food is delicious. But, also, the service there is always very prompt, the restaurant is clean, and the ambiance of the restaurant is pleasant. I am always puzzled why there is not more people dining there--probably because of the location. But, it is well worth the trip! The menu is not HUGE--but that is appreciated. The shorter list of options makes it so time and thought are put into each option on the menu. You really cannot go wrong. I personally love the seasonal themed rice noodle bowls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nkciul07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing