We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant

Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 380 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've been traveling to the Sioux Falls area for a while, and we recently found Lam's. Our group all had Pho, and everybody LOVED it. The dining area is newly remodeled and the service was excellent. We will be back, over and over and over again. Most of us had a large bowl with extra noodles, and not one of us could finish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoBuBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eat here 'Pho' sure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on a whim, looking for some food diversity. The exterior looks like it used to be a church, but the inside was cute and very friendly. The service was great and very nice. I ordered the Spicey Pho and it was delicious! There was heat, but not overpoweringly so. My beau had the Lam Special and he liked it all right, but I don't think he would order it again. The portions are huge and very well priced! I had to take half of my soup home with me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice to Have Unique Choices in Sioux Falls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Been a supporter of this place since it opened it doors-the food is fresh tasting, appears to be healthy, is plentiful and well prepared. The menu selection is large and having this option in a city loaded with chain restaurants is appreciated.
We especially like the summer bowl menu option and spring rolls. What we have noticed over time, is the decline in service. During busy lunch and dinner service only two staff are on the floor and guests are constantly getting up to refill their own beverages. No one any longer comes to confirm that the food is properly prepared either. The atmosphere is bland, except for the salmon painted wall and the location is curious. If it's good food and vegetarian and gluten free choices you're craving, I'd recommend you try this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scgalinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RV'n full-time
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really excellent Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have recently developed an appreciation for Vietnamese food, thanks to Pho restaurant in our former hometown of Santa Clarita, CA. My wife found Lam's when we were passing through Sioux Falls (we're now South Dakota residents, although we RV full-time), and I'm really glad she did.

Down the street from the Morrell meat packing plant, Lam's is a clean, airy place. Our waitress was friendly, helpful and always available.

We shared the combination fried rice and beef stir-fried noodle, and they were both absolutely delicious. Fresh ingredients, well-prepared and cooked to perfection, neither greasy nor dry.... yummy!

The menu is comprehensive, and there were many selections we would like to have tried.

One of the nice parts of RV-ing full-time is always being able to try new restaurants and foods.... and one of the not-so-nice parts is having to move on and not being able to eat at the excellent places we find.... sort of a trade-off.

This is an excellent restaurant, and is on our list for our next trip through Sioux Falls.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob and Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing Spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food was good and authentic, but I wouldn't call the food amazing. The hardest part was communicating with the waiters. This is not their fault, but most of the waiters speak barely any English, so it was hard to communicate our needs. The restaurant building itself was small and not special. Overall it was average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zcggcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing