We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to go when there is snow outside!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly House & Marine Cove

Butterfly House & Marine Cove
Ranked #4 of 52 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy over 800 free-flying butterflies from around the world in the tropical conservatory. View hundreds of vibrant marine fishes and corals in over 10,000 gallons of aquariums, including the Pop-Up Dome Aquarium, Shark & Stingray Touch Pool, and Pacific Tide Pool. Experience interactive learning and relaxation with tropical butterflies and marine life. A year round tropical destination! The Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove is a nonprofit organization, funded entirely by admissions, memberships, gift shop sales, and donations. Thank you for visiting and supporting our mission of learning, healing, and celebrating nature's beauty with tropical butterflies and marine life!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tulare, South Dakota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best place to go when there is snow outside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We love this place! Where else can you go in Sioux Falls to see blooming flowers and colorful butterflies when it's below 0 out? The staff have always been helpful and cheerful making our visit all the more relaxing. People of all ages we have taken here and not one has left without a smile on their face.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank acceberose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    93
    23
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We decided to go out for the day and the butterfly house was somewhere we hadn't been before. It was beautiful place to visit. Very calming and tranquil. We sat and just took it all in.

They have also added in a splash pool for seeing fish and being able to touch them. This area was very informative.

I hope they add more to it over the years to come.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Didn't expect too much but LOVED the variety of butterflys from all over the world. Great photo opportunities. The little Button Quail were adorable. Would go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trvl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although a bit pricey, the butterfly house is amazing. Over 800 colorful butterflies are EVERYWHERE! Easily spent an hour + in there. The marine cove is nice too, but the butterflies are definitely the main attraction!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deafbabydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flandreau, South Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“visit to the Sertoma Butterfly House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spend a very, very enjoyable afternoon touring the Sertoma Butterfly House in Sioux Falls, SD. I would highly recommend everyone with or without children to spend a couple of hours there and enjoy the beauty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly House & Marine Cove also viewed

 

Been to Butterfly House & Marine Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing