We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Butterfly House & Aquarium
Ranked #3 of 63 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy over 800 free-flying butterflies from around the world in the tropical conservatory. View vibrant marine fishes, jellyfish, and corals in ten aquariums, including the Pop-Up Dome Aquarium, Shark & Stingray Touch Pool, and Pacific Tide Pool. Experience interactive learning and relaxation with tropical butterflies and marine life. A year round tropical destination! The Butterfly House & Aquarium is a nonprofit organization, funded entirely by admissions, memberships, gift shop sales, and donations. Thank you for visiting and supporting our mission of learning, healing, and celebrating nature's beauty with tropical butterflies and marine life!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Prescott, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Didn't expect too much but LOVED the variety of butterflys from all over the world. Great photo opportunities. The little Button Quail were adorable. Would go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trvl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    117
    27
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although a bit pricey, the butterfly house is amazing. Over 800 colorful butterflies are EVERYWHERE! Easily spent an hour + in there. The marine cove is nice too, but the butterflies are definitely the main attraction!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deafbabydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flandreau, South Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“visit to the Sertoma Butterfly House”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spend a very, very enjoyable afternoon touring the Sertoma Butterfly House in Sioux Falls, SD. I would highly recommend everyone with or without children to spend a couple of hours there and enjoy the beauty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although a little spendy for what you get right now, I'd say it's worth one trip. Beautiful butterflies and fish to see. People of all ages seemed to enjoy it and my children got a kick out of the butterfly that wouldn't leave my husband alone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved the butterfly house, thought it was such a great experience. I took my husband who is not all that in to butterfly's and such, but in the end he enjoyed it as much as I did. Love the fact that they have a touch tank with stingrays in it thought that was a great addition to the place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank peach0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly House & Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Butterfly House & Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing