We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly House & Marine Cove

Butterfly House & Marine Cove
Ranked #4 of 55 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy over 800 free-flying butterflies from around the world in the tropical conservatory. View hundreds of vibrant marine fishes and corals in over 10,000 gallons of aquariums, including the Pop-Up Dome Aquarium, Shark & Stingray Touch Pool, and Pacific Tide Pool. Experience interactive learning and relaxation with tropical butterflies and marine life. A year round tropical destination! The Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove is a nonprofit organization, funded entirely by admissions, memberships, gift shop sales, and donations. Thank you for visiting and supporting our mission of learning, healing, and celebrating nature's beauty with tropical butterflies and marine life!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an amazing place to visit! Not only are there beautiful butterflies to enjoy...there are beautiful aquariums filled with amazing fish to observe, as well as sting rays and sharks. A must-see for anyone visiting Sioux Falls, SD or living in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaylasNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    99
    24
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stop for pics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you like taking pictures this is the stop for you. Nice and restfull with all the beautiful Butterfly flying around. Stopped for about an hour. It is warm and a bit humid so try not to go in the heat of August like we did!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Visual Stimulation at Nature's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The 700-800 butterflies of 25-30 species are thrilling for all ages and calming for babies. The marine cove with 12 tanks is a real complementary and engaging area with the touch pool (sharks, sting-rays & horseshoe crabs) and new bubble aquarium.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leelan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slayton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“beautiful butterflys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we visited often with the grandkids. They love to have they butterflies land on them. We saw the different stages of the butterfly also. There are some fish there also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deforest1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fun stop for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We have had long driving days and stopped here for some fun. It was $26 for the four of us so not bad at all. My kids are fascinated by fish. Coming from a bigger city it wasn't as grand as some aquariums but my kids were still intrigued. All of the volunteers/employees were fantastic! Wonderful butterfly enclosure and we loved the little pheasants running around. The gift shop is fun too. Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly House & Marine Cove also viewed

 

Been to Butterfly House & Marine Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing