We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, Basic and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Sioux Falls B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Basic and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This motel is just a block from the hospital. It's clean, basic and the staff is friendly. We stayed for 7 nights in a single w/ queen bed while my son was in the hospital. The room is not big, but it works. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The breakfast was basic but good. Yogurt, cereals, breads, muffins, bagels, fruit, coffee and orange juice. You can find something to eat.

The place is old and basic but it is clean and close to the hospital. WiFi was free and fast. We got the hospital rate of $66/night and that was reduced to $55/ night for the weekly rate. I would stay again.
There is no elevator but that did not matter to us. We needed the exercise. We could hear the people above us but I slept just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcargin1 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you found our property clean and our staff friendly. We hope to see you stay with us again in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hot springs, sd
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Valley Inn is basic, but comfortable and clean. Perhaps most important is its proximity to Sanford Medical Center. Right across the street, so you don't even have to drive. And if you can't walk a block, the hospital has free valet parking! Valley Inn is also just a five minute drive to Augustana (about a mile south, straight down Grange) and I think two other colleges; since my recent visits were duel college/hospital trip, it was perfect. You will have to drive farther for restaurants and shopping, but if your primary focus is the hospital you couldn't ask for better. Also, the staff is super friendly and helpful and the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you found our hotel clean and convenient. We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahpeton, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed at the Valley Inn for 4 nights, as my husband was a patient at the Sanford hospital The convenience of it was unbeatable, across the street from the hospital. I had a 'queen room'. Size was very good, bed comfortable, room very clean, could not of asked for more, except coffee in the lounge. I would definitely stay here again.

MjB Wahpeton

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 102MjB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient while you husband was a guest at Sanford Hospital. I am sorry you felt our coffee was not of the best flavor. We are continually changing our vendors and will work on providing a more flavorful option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very old. Has second floor but no elevator at all for handicap. Service was poor at best. Nor the best area to be in.Parking lot not big enough for motorcycle trailers. Park across the street. A sign says you will be towed even thou Valley inn says to park there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fordharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sioux Falls hotels

La Crosse
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in Valley II so we could have a first floor room. The room was clean. The price was very reasonable. Rooms were a good size. Lounge rooms and outdoor portico made great picnic areas. It is in a residential neighborhood next to a hospital.

They never made enough coffee at breakfast, but I might stay here again.

Room Tip: Valley II smells a bit fresher. Valley I wasn't bad, either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelloSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy you found our prices reasonable and enjoyed your stay. For your convenience, we do have coffee makers in the room but if you enjoy our breakfast coffee and see it's low, please feel free to let our staff know. We hope to be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a family emergency so we had to find prompt lodging for the night, fortunately there was lodging across Sanford Hospital. Initially I was hesitant about getting a room at Valley Inn from the exterior but the room was quite decent. The beds were comfortable, had a fridge, was clean, shower/bathroom was clean. I had no complaints about the room. Being a non-smoker as well as the rest of my family the one concern would be to designate a smoking area for smokers that is AWAY from the entrance. We had to hold our breaths while running to get inside the building! Hopefully it is resolved in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank em_khoon03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you're lucky enough to get a room in the new building then your stay could be ok.

If you get stuck in the older building then expect a lesser enjoyed time and if you get one of the old rooms - look elsewhere!

It was 105 outside and the room had old stinky carpets and no air conditioning!

No pool; no fitness center; very basic breakfast.

Need to find the staff - look outside to the smoking corner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickbalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
2.8 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#11 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#7 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Inn

Property: Valley Inn
Address: 1000 S Grange Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57105-0442
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley Inn Sioux Falls, located at 1000 S. Grange Avenue, is conveniently located within walking distance of Sanford Health Center. The Sioux Falls hotel offers 63 non-smoking rooms. Each room is equipped with refrigerators and 32-inch flat panel TVs. The hotel serves a free deluxe continental breakfast each morning and offers free WiFi to hotel guests. The hotel features a business center, guest laundry facilities and a shuttle to and from Sanford Health. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing