We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Ladas

Mama's Ladas
Ranked #22 of 375 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Freeman, South Dakota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was told that this place had some of the best enchiladas in the area. I was very disappointed. The atmosphere was very cozy. If you don't like being a little closer than usual to a few other parties, this will immediately turn you off. I started with the chips and guacamole. The guacamole was good but nothing really special. Soon after my beef enchilada came. At first, I didn't know what to think about them but it didn't take too long for me to realize that it just wasn't good. My waitress seemed to be ignoring me a bit as well. It's a shame that this wasn't better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
221 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A Sioux Falls Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you don't like enchilada's, this isn't the place for you. Three kinds of enchiladas and that's pretty much it.

If you don't like homemade sangria, this isn't exactly a top drawer wine bar although there is a limited beer and wine menu.

If you don't like chips, salsa and/or guacamole, this probably wouldn't be a place you would enjoy.

If you don't like cozy little unique "hole in the wall" atmosphere kinds of places, you might want to avoid Mama's Ladas.

But if you really like awesome enchiladas, refreshing sangria, and chips with pretty good guacamole and acceptable (kind of mild) salsa in a true tuck away corner of old Sioux Falls, this place is a gem.

Finally, with reference to other reviewers, yes, we've been to Latin America quite often and we'd just observe that 1) Mama's Ladas doesn't even pretend to be a Mexican restaurant and yet 2) it is still reminiscent of a relaxed Latin cafe only serving great American style enchiladas and salsa in a true South Dakota style.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IowaGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fun setting with delicious enchaladas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We visit Sioux Falls a couple times a year and always try to include a stop at Mama's Ladas. Its small size, exposed brick walls and limited menu are part of the charm. But that wouldn't matter if the food and sevice weren't good... but they are. This time we stopped for a late lunch on Saturday. We found a table right away, and enjoyed among the four of us the chicken and beef enchaladas, plus the new chicken nachos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeTravelerEAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

They had us at enchiladas. Which is good because 3 kinds of enchiladas is all they have on their menu! They actually do have a couple of other items, including chips, salsa,and guacamole, but enchiladas are their claim to fame (hence the name). We tried one each of the beef, chicken and broccoli/ricotta, and all were delicious. The guacamole and salsa were very good, too. The salsa was a little unusual, having olives as an ingredient, but tasty. We got the minimalist menu, but still think they should add black or pinto beans to make it feel more like a meal. Enjoyed the fun decor, with the brick walls and colored lights hung from the ceiling, and the funky flair. The basket of mini candy bars offered at the end for dessert was a nice touch, too. Only thing that wasn't so great was the service. Not that the waitress wasn't professional. She was good, but kind of, well, "brisk" and lacking warmth. We kind of felt rushed. We were the last customers in the restaurant, and we left a half hour before their closing time, but maybe they were trying to close up early.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lcmc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
618 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not feeling it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I like the simplistic approach of the menu. One of my favorite places to eat only serves tacos.
Two with chips (no salsa) $12 bucks, I felt it was a a little expensive for what it was.
The Resturant is cozy and the service was excellent.
Not a secret melt in your mouth kind of felling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel46804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Ladas also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Ladas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing